how to have a wireless router joining AEBS?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by gugy, Sep 1, 2011.

  1. gugy macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    La Jolla, CA
    #1
    Hi,
    I have a cheap wireless router that I bought at Fry's and I would like to have it joining my current Airport Extreme wi-fi network.
    I opened the Airport utility but it cannot find my Fry's router and unfortunately the software for the router only comes in Windows.
    Does anybody know how I can accomplish this?
    I appreciate any help!
     
  2. jdechko macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
  3. gugy thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    La Jolla, CA
    #3
  4. jdechko macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    #4
    So to get this straight, you want to use the Fry's router as a network extender to increase the range of your wireless network at home?

    If that's the case, then, while technically possible, it won't be easy.

    1) The default router firmware doesn't support bridge mode (not good)
    2) The Fry's router is actually a re-branded DLink (good)
    3) You might be able to flash the firmware with another firmware such as OpenWRT or DD-WRT which can provide bridge support (good but likely difficult)

    I couldn't find a definitive resource for doing the flash, but a google search might turn up some good results for you.

    Alternatively, abandon the idea of using the Fry's router and just drop $70 on a refurbished Airport Express. :rolleyes:
     
  5. skorpien macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #5
    Setup:
    http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/26624-43-install-frys-router

    It's basically a rebranded D-Link DIR-600 as jdechko said. According to DD-WRT's website (http://dd-wrt.com/), you can install DD-WRT on the DIR-600 versions B1/B2 but not C. Depending on the version, you may be able to install DD-WRT on it to allow it to act as a wireless bridge.

    If the flash to DD-WRT is successful, Google DD-WRT and wireless bridge and you should find some help on how to make it work.

    Also, just to let you know, AirPort Utility will only allow you to set up AirPort routers. It does not and will not allow you to set up any other brand of routers.
     
  6. gugy thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    La Jolla, CA
    #6
    Yes, I want to extend my range and use it to connect to my DirectTV DVR that needs internet connection. I have the Fry's router sitting here and I don't want to buy an Apple one because of the price. So if I can make this thing work that would be nice.
    On the other hand I am not sure if that's feasible.
    I will look into skorpien suggestion. But I was wondering if I was missing any easier way to make this happen.

    Thanks for the tips.

    ----------

    yep, that will be the easiest route. :D
     

Share This Page