How to I reinstall Lion from USB

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by iqwertyi, Sep 5, 2011.

1. iqwertyi macrumors regular

Long Story:
    My iMac was replaced with a new one. I tried to migrate my old data and it created a second user. The second user is also me and it seems like a mess right now.

I have Lion on a USB stick.
    I want to wipe everything, reinstall Lion from the USB and use the Setup Assistant when you first get the computer to restore my time machine backup. Apparently doing a Migration Assistant was what created that second user.

So, I found that hitting Command + R while booting up takes me to the restore screen. If I click "Install Lion" it seems it wants to redownload lion and install. But I already have it on a USB. What should I select so I can install Lion from the USB I have.

As you can tell, I'm very new to Mac. I apologize if these are basic questions.
    Thanks.

2. Sc00tr macrumors regular

1) Insert USB stick.
    2) Turn on MAC
    3) Hold Option key untill u get a screen where you can select drive to boor from
    4) Select the USB key
    5)before doing the install go to disk utilities and erase the MAC hard drive, otherwise you will not get a clean install.
    6) Install OS

Command +R is to boot off the recovery partition.

3. iqwertyi thread starter macrumors regular

Thank you!

And just to make sure, I "can" reinstall from the USB I created from the App Store correct?
    I just want to make sure, since I've seen some posts saying a clean install can only be done on a DVD?

This is a quote from one of the tutorials on making the USB

"You'll not only be able to install Lion from this drive, but you'll also be able to use Disk Utiltiy, recover from a Time Machine backup, and do everything else you could do with the old installation DVDs. Note that when you install Lion, it'll create a recovery partition with all these features anyway, so you don't need the DVD unless you're doing a clean install. "

Thanks