How to import/drag main.storyboard into a different project?

Discussion in 'iOS Programming' started by patent10021, Jul 15, 2015.

  1. patent10021 macrumors 68020

    patent10021

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    #1
    I need to use a storyboard from a previous project. I deleted the main.storyboard file and assets folder from the new project so that I could drag the main.storyboard file and assets folder from an older project into the new project without getting any warnings. Unfortunately I'n still getting a warning saying that those files already exist.

    I like I said I trashed the main.storyboard file and assets folder from the new project to prepare for the drag and drop of the older files. Should I have selected Remove References instead? I thought trashing was more thorough? Or maybe there's something else I'm not doing?
     
  2. 1458279 Suspended

    1458279

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Location:
    California
    #2
    I'm not sure, but did you try the "clean" option? I too was under the impression that move to trash was the most complete.

    Have you tried one file at a time? Does it give a list of which files are dupes?
     
  3. patent10021 thread starter macrumors 68020

    patent10021

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    #3
    It's ok. I found the problem. Actually it's weird. I clicked Move To Trash and while it did remove them from the Xcode navigator, the files were still in the Finder project folder. So I just deleted them from the Finder and drag and dropped again.

    I don't know about you but in my world I don't call that 'Moving it to the Trash'. Maybe that's just Xcode's version of "Trashing a file". Discovering this leads me to think that clicking "Remove Reference" might have been better.

    Even this Xcode book describes what it should do.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. DennisBlah macrumors 6502

    DennisBlah

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #4
    Can you reproduce that as for me it actually goes to trash ;)
     
  5. PhoneyDeveloper macrumors 68030

    PhoneyDeveloper

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    #5
    I always arrange things in the Finder the way I want it and then add the files to the project. This pretty much always works out correctly.
     
  6. patent10021 thread starter macrumors 68020

    patent10021

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    #6
    Sort of OT but, I found a good tip yesterday to renaming not the project name but the app name (executable only) the app name you see on the display. All the old file names stay the same but at least its easy to change the app name. It takes just 1 click.

    In terms of changing the entire project name that has always been a nightmare. I'm really puzzled as to why Apple has never tried to solve this problem in Xcode. There are a few different solutions but they are all risky and time consuming.

    Why don't they have some "rename project" function and boom!, all done.
     
  7. DennisBlah macrumors 6502

    DennisBlah

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #7
    The only down thing is, you dont make a new app like that, only the app name changes. Dont forget to change app id, else it will be an update of the previous
     
  8. patent10021 thread starter macrumors 68020

    patent10021

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    #8
    Yeah I know. Sometimes you don't care if the project name stays the same but you want to change the app name. This does that.

    With Xcode 7 and all these updates I just don't get why it's not possible to have a 'Export Project As New Project' or 'Rename Project' option. Basically a 'Save As' for Projects. This seems like the most obvious update an IDE should have. The easiest solution to change a project name currently is a page long tutorial in Stack. Seems ridiculous.

    How are you personally changing project names or app names?
     
  9. DennisBlah macrumors 6502

    DennisBlah

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #9
    For the name itself just like you said, some costumers have a second opinion about app name and it works fine. If I need a 'clone' of a project I just manually make a copy, change app id and name and thats all

    You can always change project name but comes with some cons like name of your plists and stuff, the 'test project' etc etc

    You should try and find your project broken and take a while for fixing it, thank god there are snapshots ;-)
     

Share This Page