How to improve Macbook Pro Gaming Performance

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by crazy$hark, Jul 26, 2011.

  1. crazy$hark macrumors regular

    crazy$hark

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    #1
    Whenever I play Crysis 2 on my Macbook Pro, the gameplay is a little choppy.Why is that and how can i make the gameplay smoother? I have 4GB RAM, will upgrading to 8GB RAM make the gameplay smoother or is that not the problem?
     
  2. NZed macrumors 65816

    NZed

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Location:
    Canada, Eh?
    #2
    that is only part of the problem since Crysis is also a ram demanding game. But the real bottleneck is the GPU(and maybe the CPU)

    If you wanted to game, you chose the wrong computer(macs).

    What is your MBP?
     
  3. crazy$hark thread starter macrumors regular

    crazy$hark

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    #3
    Here's a picture of the "About This Mac"
    http://cl.ly/1k2u3T2d2f1k332f421P
     
  4. SlickShoes macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    #4
    CPU and GPU will be the main problems, 4GB of ram is more than enough for any game currently on the market.

    It also depends what resolution you are trying to play at?

    Here are the recommended specs for it:

    2.66GHz Core 2 Duo / A64 X2 CPU, 3GB RAM, GTX280 / HD4870, 1GB Video Memory, DX9.0, Shader Model 3.0/4.0, Windows XP, 30fps @ 1650 x 1080

    and

    Highly Recommended: 3GHz Core i7 4GB RAM, GTX560Ti / HD4870 X2, 1.8GB Video Memory, DX11, Shader Model 3.0/4.0, Windows 7, 30fps @ 1920 x 1200

    There is a large difference between recommended and highly recommended processor and gpu wise.
     
  5. Hansr macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    #5
    You are most likely playing the unofficial Cider wrapper version? Play the game under Windows for better performance.
     
  6. 2hvy4grvty macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    #6
    Just for clarification since people seem unaware, the desktop GTX 560 Ti is a MORE POWERFUL 580m, which is the most powerful notebook card in existence [along with the 6990m]. On a whole, it's about two and a half times as powerful as the 6750m in Macs. And remember, the 560 Ti is EVEN BETTER.

    The 280 is about 30% slower than the 560 Ti, so still about twice as fast as the 6750m.

    Just saying.
     
  7. SlickShoes macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    #7
    The OP is not even playing on a 6750m, by the looks of it he is using a 2010 macbook pro which has the 330m in it.

    i think we all realise that laptop cards do not have the power of a desktop.
     
  8. scupking macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    #8
    Laptops are not great gaming machines. Though I'm happy with my 2010 13" at the games I play.
     
  9. SlickShoes macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    #9
    A top of the lin 15" Macbook Pro is a fine gaming machine, its not a bleeding edge gaming PC but it should be getting you High-Medium settings on most games for the next couple of years at native res.
     
  10. dccorona macrumors 68020

    dccorona

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    #10
    not to mention those top out at 512mb graphics memory...
     
  11. head honcho 123 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Location:
    New York
    #11
    if u have no choice but to play on ur macbook pro

    do this:

    1) upgrade ram to max as allowed by ur mbp model

    2) upgrade to SSD to reduce load times and quicker texture loading, etc. (get one with high reads... write is not a big deal for ur case)

    3) play on low to mid setting.

    4) run on bootcamp (then update to the latest graphics drivers)

    5) if running on mac, quit all other apps
     
  12. crazy$hark thread starter macrumors regular

    crazy$hark

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    #12
    I am playing it under windows 7 using bootcamp
     
  13. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #13
    Actually, it's more like the nVidia GeForce 9400M

    It has a 2.53GHz Core 2 Duo, which came in the 13" Models (9400M), base 15" Models (9400M) for the 2009 MBPs, as listed in the OP's profile.

    You're not getting any better performance out of the 9400M. Even the 9600GT chokes on it. Unless you are running the 6750M found in the 2011s, turn the graphics and everything to minimal and hopefully, you'll maintain some okay FPS.
     
  14. NZed macrumors 65816

    NZed

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Location:
    Canada, Eh?
    #14
    The 9400M couldnt even handle Crysis 1 at low
     
  15. w00t951 macrumors 68000

    w00t951

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #15
    I'm surprised you can even maintain some semblance of playability.

    1) Upgrade RAM. 8GB is good, but 4GB isn't enough.

    2) After upgrading RAM, install Windows 7 64-bit. Take advantage of that RAM and DirectX 11.

    3) You could be more specific in your hardware. A 2.53GHz Core 2 Duo is very outdated, even by Apple standards. Crysis is optimized for multicore (4) systems, and will have loads of trouble running on a dual core C2D mobile chip.

    4) Since you have the 9600M GT, over clocking via NVIDIA nTune is advised. The 9600M GT has great OC potential in the way of raising clocks.

    Even my OC'd 6750M has lots of trouble playing this game. Only for this game (Crysis 2) the 6750M is outperformed by much older and inferior cards like the 5750M. In general, everything in that system will be a bottleneck. 2.3 GHz i7 quad core CPU hovers around 40% usage, and the 6750M hovers around 98% usage. Right now, an SLI/Crossfire desktop rig with a Sandy Bridge i7 would be the best way to run Crysis 2.
     

Share This Page