How to increase volume of a low quality recording

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by StrapedStan, Apr 6, 2010.

  1. StrapedStan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    #1
    I make memos and recordings at my office and have realized that the sound on some of these is extremly low, i mean really really low, I know that if I could just increase the volume I could distinguish what is said. Is there any way to do this for personally made recordings? My recorder records in 3gp, I need something that will increase the volume of that.
     
  2. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #2
    I'm not sure if iTunes will open a 3GP, so use a converter to convert it to an MP3 and then right click on the MP3 in iTunes and go to the Information or Properties (I forget what it's called) and change the volume there.
     
  3. StrapedStan thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    #3
    I have tried this but itunes doesnt increase the volume, I need another software that will. Itunes doesnt increase it, in only makes it so that when its transferred to the ipod it will play at full volume.
     
  4. forcefieldkid macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    #4
    What program are you using to make the recordings? You could try GarageBand to increase the volume.
     
  5. jackerin macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
  6. StrapedStan thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    #6
    How do I convert it to mp3? I cant figure out how exactly to do this.
     
  7. forcefieldkid macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    #7
    Switch will (well, should!) be able to do this for you.
     
  8. John Doe 57 macrumors 65816

    John Doe 57

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #8
    Throw it in GarageBand (once converted to mp3) and increase the volume from there. Then you can export the new mp3 track with the new volume settings.
     
  9. StrapedStan thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    #9
    I dont have a mac, all I have is windows. I cant seem to get amplify to work in Audacity and havent been able to convert to mp3 with anything. Please help.
     
  10. forcefieldkid macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    #10
    If you dont have a mac then you're on the wrong site man...
     
  11. John Doe 57 macrumors 65816

    John Doe 57

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #11
    +1
     
  12. StrapedStan thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    #12
    You should take into account that I have a iphone, ipod touch and am looking into an ipad. Just because I dont have a mac computer doesn't mean I cant find help for my mac products on a mac forum.
     
  13. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #13
    We don't work for Apple Support. Just because you own an Apple product doesn't mean you're guaranteed to find an answer even if your question has nothing to do with said product. You're welcome to ask, but you will probably find more knowledgeable respondents elsewhere.
     
  14. forcefieldkid macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    #14
    You're right, but those products have nothing to do with your question.
     
  15. jackerin macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #15
    Open file, select all, amplify. If that's not working for you then something is wrong. If you install the LAME MP3 encoder you can encode directly to MP3 from Audacity (though I have no idea how the installation works on Windows, some things you have to google yourself).
     
  16. John Doe 57 macrumors 65816

    John Doe 57

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #16
    How were we supposed to know that? You never mentioned it.
     

Share This Page