Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

maclub10

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 4, 2010
Since we only have 14 days to return it if anything arises; what are the signs of things to look for when receiving the Macbook Pro. This is my first time getting one, so I wonder what are the things to test out or inspect. I will start. Feel free to add to the list. i.e. speed, heat, etc.

For reference, I got the 2.66 i7 15"-500 7200 rpm-4g Ram-HiRes Antiglare

1. Yellow tint
2. Dead Pixels

akramer

macrumors member
May 20, 2010
This forum is filled with the most neurotic people I've ever seen.

When you get your MBP, take it out of the box, remove the plastic wrapping, make sure it doesn't have any scratches or dents. Then open it and turn it on. Make sure it boots and doesn't crash within a few hours. Check for bad pixels if you want. Then, enjoy.

The yellow tint that people are going nuts about on this forum isn't actually a problem - every TN display appears to be a different color at the top and bottom due to viewing angle. If you move your head vertically you'll see colors shift - it's normal. The yellow tint test is designed to find a problem with the IPS displays in current generation iMacs.

maclub10

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 4, 2010

When you get your MBP, take it out of the box, remove the plastic wrapping, make sure it doesn't have any scratches or dents. Then open it and turn it on. Make sure it boots and doesn't crash within a few hours. Check for bad pixels if you want. Then, enjoy.

The yellow tint that people are going nuts about on this forum isn't actually a problem - every TN display appears to be a different color at the top and bottom due to viewing angle. If you move your head vertically you'll see colors shift - it's normal. The yellow tint test is designed to find a problem with the IPS displays in current generation iMacs.