how to instal windows...

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by ozzyboy, Aug 20, 2007.

  1. ozzyboy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    #1
    The Thread it's so clear, but I.m so noob :(
    I'm aplolagise, i used "search" but I dont find what i want.

    i want to tell me if can i instal windows on this iMac and if I can, pls tell me how can I do this ...pls someone guide me steb-by-step...and thx a lot.

    :apple:
     
  2. vistafanboi macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    #2
    First, which iMac do you want to install Windows on?
    It can ONLY be installed on an Intel-based iMac. (older PPC iMacs cannot be dual-booted with Windows).

    I just saw your link. This iMac will be fine (it's an Intel-based iMac), though a little sluggish. 2GB of memory is much better for XP or Vista. 512MB will definitely be inadequate.

    And even with Intel-based iMacs, the firmware updates necessary to be able to use a BIOS-based Operating System such as Windows MUST first be installed. The necessary firmware updates for the newer iMacs are already installed at the factory, so they only need to be installed if your iMac is a first-generation Intel-based iMac.

    So, here is an outline:
    First, make sure you have the necessary software disk (a full XP or Vista install disk -- these may be either a "full OEM" install disk for Windows, or a "Full Retail" install disk (comes in a box, costs beau coup bucks). They MUST be LICENSED versions. Also OEMs released by the major manufacturers, such as Dell, Gateway, HP, etc cannot be used (not licensed for Apples).

    1) Make sure you have the latest iMac firmware installed.
    2) Download and install Boot Camp Assistant Beta 1.4 in OS X.
    3) Follow Apple's directions for doing this, found at
    http://www.apple.com/macosx/bootcamp/
    4) Install Windows according to Apple's directions.
    All necessary information will be found there. Do NOT attempt to tweak Apple's instructions. I advise you to print out the Apple directions (found inside the .dmg file you download) before attempting it.)

    The BootCamp 1.4 Beta download is quite large, so do NOT attempt to do this using a low-bandwith connection, such as a voice/fax modem.


    Good luck, friend. If you need further help, don't hesitate to ask.

    VistafanBoi
    :)
     
  3. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #3
    If you want the option to choose Windows or OSX at startup, choose vistafanboi's option of Boot Camp. If you want to run Windows like the picture below, I recommend VMWare Fusion (Parallels is a competitor, inferior in my opinion). Just download it, and put in a retail Windows disk, and follow the instructions :)

    [​IMG]
     
  4. ozzyboy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    #4
    @vistafanboi...thx a lot...it's a good start for me... the mac model it is up there...the word was linked :p...anyway it is a iMac MA 590ZH

    @psychofreak ...thx u too ....I dont want to use VMWare...I want to see what can do BootCamp...

    :apple:
     
  5. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #5
    OK, although Boot Camp allows 3D, and faster speeds, Fusion allows you to run both XP and OSX at the same time. You can even have both, and I recommend installing Boot Camp, and downloading the trial of Fusion. You can use the Boot Camp installation of Windows in Fusion :)
     
  6. Multimedia macrumors 603

    Multimedia

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Location:
    Santa Cruz CA, Silicon Beach
    #6
    How Do We Turn Old XP Into XP SP2? Parallels 3.0 Not Boot Camp

    I always forget where these instructions are located. I remember we have to download some kind of networking SP 2 install code from a Microsoft web page but I know not where.

    I want to install Parallels not Boot Camp.
     

Share This Page