How to install an SSD to MacBook Pro (Early 2011)

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by WRXiceman, May 11, 2012.

  1. WRXiceman macrumors 6502

    WRXiceman

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Location:
    England, UK
    #1
    Hello,

    I need some help.
    I'm thinking of purchasing a 128Gb SSD Crucial M4 seeing as the price has dropped enough now.
    But I need to know how to copy EVERYTHING on my HDD to the new SSD.

    What would be my best option of doing that?

    Also, is it a difficult process to physically switch the HDD with the SSD?

    Any risks in doing it? Any disadvantages to having an SSD?

    Any info provided with be greatly appreciated :)

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
  3. heeby macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    #3
    I have googled and followed several guides on this and there is an issue with every single one. People post `'google it`' etc but you do and there is a lot of discrepancy. I intend on doing a clean install to a 256gb gb M4 once I get some free time but thus far haven't been able to without having issues.
     
  4. WRXiceman thread starter macrumors 6502

    WRXiceman

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Location:
    England, UK
    #4
    That guide is really handy. Thanks :)
     
  5. WRXiceman thread starter macrumors 6502

    WRXiceman

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Location:
    England, UK
    #5
    Would this be possible:

    Buy an SSD
    Buy a 2.5" HDD enclosure
    Hook it up via USB and do a carbon copy of internal HDD to SSD.
    Switch the SSD with HDD.

    After doing that, would I need to change any settings or would my MacBook boot up and work straight away?

    Thanks in advance
     
  6. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #6
    That would work, you can check System Preferences > Startup Disk to make sure though.
    [​IMG]
     
  7. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #7
    Yes, that would work.
     
  8. WRXiceman thread starter macrumors 6502

    WRXiceman

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Location:
    England, UK
    #8
    Excellent. Thanks for all the help.
    I think I'm gonna do that on pay day :)
     
  9. Modernape macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #9
    I did a CCC clone over to my OWC last year and it hasn't had a single problem, and benchmarks at the right speeds too. So go for it, if there are problems then do a clean install.
     
  10. WRXiceman thread starter macrumors 6502

    WRXiceman

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Location:
    England, UK
    #10
    Cool. I'm too impatient and ordered the Crucial M4 today. Will be delivered on Monday. But after I ordered it, I noticed that there was another Crucial M4 but it came with a mounting bracket for an extra 50p. Do I need a mounting bracket or not?
     
  11. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #11
    You do not. The bare drive will fit right in your Macbook. Just move the four mounting screws from the old drive to your M4. They use a Torx T6 driver.
     
  12. mac-collector macrumors regular

    mac-collector

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    Location:
    Europe
    #12
    I think the mounting bracket is only needed if you want to put the SSD in the optibay. But I'm not sure.
     
  13. WRXiceman thread starter macrumors 6502

    WRXiceman

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Location:
    England, UK
    #13
    Thank god for that. Started to worry a bit then. Thanks guys :) Can't wait now!
     
  14. WRXiceman thread starter macrumors 6502

    WRXiceman

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Location:
    England, UK
    #14
    Is the Torx t6 screwdriver the one I need for the screws inside the MacBook or the ones on the bottom plate?
     
  15. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #15
    The Torx is for the four little nub things on the side of the drive itself. You need a #00 Phillips for the exterior case screws. There are ten screws total on the case. Be careful because a couple (I believe it is the three along the back) are longer than the others. I just lay the MBP on its back on a big towel and put the screws on the towel beside each hole so they don't get mixed up. It is pretty easy.
     
  16. WRXiceman thread starter macrumors 6502

    WRXiceman

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Location:
    England, UK
    #16
    Thank you very much
     
  17. lascott macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Location:
    Baltimore
    #17
    Lowes sells a T6 (along with a few other sizes) driver for a little under 6 dollars. I just swapped mine out yesterday with the Crucial M4 128 gig, its like night and day difference :)
     
  18. NutsNGum macrumors 68030

    NutsNGum

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    #18
    Just went for the 256gb, it's come down a crazy amount over the past week!
     
  19. WRXiceman thread starter macrumors 6502

    WRXiceman

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Location:
    England, UK
    #19
    Just received my SSD and HDD Enclosure. I've connected it to my macbook but before I do a carbon copy, do I need to format the SSD first?
     
  20. WRXiceman thread starter macrumors 6502

    WRXiceman

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Location:
    England, UK
    #20
    Just formatted the SSD. Now I'm cloning my HDD to it. So far so good. Once that's finished I can finally switch the SSD with the HDD. Can't wait! :)
     
  21. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #21
    Yes, use Disk Utility and format it as "Macintosh Extended (Journaled)."

    Then use Carbon Copy Cloner to copy your main drive into the SSD. Afterwards, swap the drives over and boot to confirm it works.

    The first time after you clone the drive and try to boot from the new SSD, you may have to hold the "Option" key on your keyboard to choose the boot device (as your computer may search for the old boot disk still). After you have booted up, I recommend running Disk Utility again and repair disk permissions. Finally go to the System Preferences—>Startup Disk and select your new drive as the default boot volume. Reboot to confirm.
     
  22. WRXiceman thread starter macrumors 6502

    WRXiceman

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Location:
    England, UK
    #22
    Excellent piece of info. Thank you.
     
  23. WRXiceman thread starter macrumors 6502

    WRXiceman

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Location:
    England, UK
    #23
    Any way to unscrew Torx screws without the Torx screwdriver and without damaging them?
     
  24. simsaladimbamba, May 14, 2012
    Last edited: May 14, 2012

    simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #24
    Not really. Torx screwdrivers shouldn't be that expensive, I got a set with ten different sizes for less than 10 € at something like Home Depot or can get a single sized Torx screwdriver for less than 5 € at a good sorted home improvement store.
     
  25. WRXiceman thread starter macrumors 6502

    WRXiceman

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Location:
    England, UK
    #25
    So, here I am. Sitting here with my new SSD and everything copied over to it. The old HDD has been removed and the SSD is ready to replace it, BUT I can't do that because I don't have one specific screwdriver. Now I have to wait until tomorrow to finish the job :(
    So frustrating :(
     

Share This Page