How to install Gameboy Advance Emulator

Discussion in 'iPod touch Hacks' started by reeco, Nov 21, 2007.

  1. reeco macrumors regular

    reeco

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    #1
    Here is a quick video of what gpSPhone is, if you didnt already know!

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M2ZMGze28hk


    First off go to installer on the touch or iphone, then to games and install "gpSPhone"

    Next

    download this file http://rapidshare.com/files/69551457/gba_bios.bin.html

    Then

    Connect your touch to your computer and open your SFTP application and log into your your iphone/touch.

    Now navigate to root/media_sym/applications/gpSPhone.app

    and drop the file you downloaded into this folder.

    The right click on this file and change the permissions to 755.

    now you need to download the roms (search google)

    and place the roms into media/roms/gba

    Thats it. Enjoy
     
  2. bdsmyth macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    #2
    Rapid Share Sucks

    Thanks for the link to the file, but alas I can't seem to download as Rapid Share just totally sucks in that regard. If anyone reads this and has a copy of the bin file please please please please please (yeah I could keep going) email me. I'm at bdsmyth AT hotmail DOT com

    Cheers!
     
  3. cmcclure16 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    #3
    Thanks so much. For some reason I couldn't find a good working bios file. Works great now.
     
  4. bdsmyth macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    #4
    Bin File

    Well I've kept trying to download the bin file from Rapidshare and its just not happening. So if anyone feels like sharing it my email address is above.

    Thanks!
     
  5. strchris macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    #5
    Laggy

    Whenever i play, the sound is seriously choppy, and the game is kinda lagging. Is it the bios?
     
  6. bdsmyth macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    #6
    Got it, and its working at last

    Ok after 3 days of searching I eventually managed to snag myself a copy of the gba_bios BIN file and have myself a working GBA Emulator. So cool!

    Thanks for all the suggestions, and if anyone else out there needs the same thing just drop a message with your email address.

    Cheers
    Barry
     
  7. Jasonbot macrumors 68020

    Jasonbot

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Rainbow Nation RSA
    #7
    I've been loving this, it rocks! I've been playing Final Fantasy Advance and its so much fun. Only difference is I got mine off installer.app and put the bios in myself.

    The thing is I want to play pokemon yellow but its a plain old .gb and not a .gba. Do you think they'll add .gb or .gbc support later on or is there another way to play it? I tried this thing called goomba that apparently converts .gb to .gba but the game just dies when you start it so i know it doesnt work.
     
  8. bdsmyth macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    #8
    Don't look backwards, why with a GBA emulator would you want to!
     
  9. Jasonbot macrumors 68020

    Jasonbot

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Rainbow Nation RSA
    #9
    Because its pokemon yellow :O I love that game!
     
  10. Ben.perkins macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    #10
    gba_bios BIN

    Hi Barry,
    I too could not download the file of rapidshare, so if you could email it to me at ben28790@gmail.com it would be much appreciated.

    Thanks, Ben
     
  11. Jasonbot macrumors 68020

    Jasonbot

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Rainbow Nation RSA
    #11
    Check my post, post 7
     
  12. bdsmyth macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
  13. Ben.perkins macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    #13
    Thanks very much Barry. I can now get playing those GBA games! Your speedy reply was much appreciated, keep up the good work.

    Cheers, Ben
     
  14. M!K macrumors regular

    M!K

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #14
    I'm with Mac and i don't know how to get into the ipod touch via SFTP. Where and how can I do that?
     
  15. Mercury7 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    #15
    well....with the nes emulater someone eventually put everything you needed icluding roms in a source to be added to installer.....hopefully someone will do the same for this so it will just be a matter of installing that way. I am hoping
     
  16. bdsmyth macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    #16
    M!K

    You can download TRANSMIT which works really well. Check under settings on your iPod what its IP address is on the wireless network you're connected to. Both you Mac and iPod need to be on the same wireless network. Then enter that IP address in the sever part of TRANSMIT's connection screen. The user ID is root and the password is alpine. Change the FTP drop down box to SFTP and connect.

    Cheers!
     
  17. reeco thread starter macrumors regular

    reeco

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    #17


    Step 1: Download http://cyberduck.ch/

    Step 2: Click open connection

    Step 3: Where it says protocal!!! click the dropdown box and select SFTP

    Step 4: Where it says URL!!! type your ipod touch/iphone ip address (which can be found in the settings menu on the itouch!!

    step 5: username is "root"

    Step 6: Password is "alpine"

    Click connect and away you go!
     
  18. M!K macrumors regular

    M!K

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #18
    Thank you very much! I installed everything in a second... but I have one more problem... my GBA games won't show in my iPod touch. They are .zip files, and they're put in the Media/ROMs/GBA folder. Is that ok?

    Look, these are my game's file names. Maybe that's what's wrong?!
     

    Attached Files:

  19. reeco thread starter macrumors regular

    reeco

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    #19
    you have to unzip the files first. Then put the files in that folder!!
     
  20. M!K macrumors regular

    M!K

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #20
    Thanks so much. I have my all-time favorite game (Donkey Kong Country) in my iPod Touch. It's great. Even if it's not very fast.
     
  21. touchher macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    #21
    I have been trying to do this and I can't seem to find where to drag my gba's. I have no "ROMs" folder (using WinSCP). Does anyone know how to fix this?
     
  22. aki macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2004
    Location:
    Japan
    #22
    Make a ROMs folder yourself and put the roms in that. (Just installing the gba emu doesn't make a ROMs folder is the problem.) You should have media/ROMs/gba/yourromfileshereunzippedofcourse
     
  23. tony Ramirez macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    #23
    what should i type in on google to get the ROMs
    for example:
    _________ for gba emulator for ipod touch
    ????????

    and do i put the ROMs in var/root/Media/ROMs/gba
    ???
     
  24. toonz diggler macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    #24
    i tried this way and also cyberduck.. it tells me connection refused on both.. any suggestions?

    -I'm using a MAC
     
  25. aki macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2004
    Location:
    Japan
    #25
    Hmm... well, did you install SSH on your touch? Did you turn it off for some reason? Are you use Little Snitch or something else that might be stopping connection? You are sure you are using the right password? That's all i can think of right now.
     

Share This Page