How to Install iOS on Desktop

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Jag Jaeger, Feb 18, 2013.

  1. Jag Jaeger macrumors newbie

    Jag Jaeger

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Location:
    Gujarat, India
    #1
    I have desktop with following configuration,

    -P4
    -Intel 845 Mercury Mother Board
    -750 DDR2 Ram
    -256 Graphic Card

    Is it possible to install iOS on this desktop, if yes can anyone share steps to install this OS.

    Thanks in advance...
     
  2. FotoDirk, Feb 18, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2013

    FotoDirk macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    #2
    As far as I know this is not possible today.
    I have not heard of any emulator or so that can handle iOS apps on another machine. Maybe there is something in the iOS developer environment from Apple, but I'm not a developer.

    To run iOS you need either an iPhone, iPod touch or iPAD.
     
  3. ChristianJapan macrumors 601

    ChristianJapan

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Location:
    日本
    #3
    There is an simulator in XCode to test code on a Mac. But it's creating code for Intel CPU; not for ARM as used on iDevices. It's actually cheating a bit this way but ok for what it should do.;)

    That said: there is no public available way to run iOS on intel CPU; you also would miss some important hardware like touch screen etc. not even talking about difference in GPU.

    Why you want that ? Wouldn't a Linux or BSD variant give what you need; maybe someone even made a skin for those ?
     
  4. jevcm macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    #4
    IOS or OSX?

    Hi,
    Maybe what you want is OSX on your PC, right?
    If so, check Hackintosh.com, they have what you need.:)
     
  5. Jag Jaeger thread starter macrumors newbie

    Jag Jaeger

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Location:
    Gujarat, India
    #5
    @FotoDirk - Thanks for taking interest, but I was searching for some virtual software that can support iOS for application development.

    @ChristianJapan - I agree with you that I am missing touch screen hardware and trying to get some alternative for same.
     
  6. ChristianJapan macrumors 601

    ChristianJapan

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Location:
    日本
    #6
    Get a used Mac Mini, install XCode and use the simulator; as long you don't install on a device you don't need developer program membership. Its the easiest way.
     
  7. Jag Jaeger thread starter macrumors newbie

    Jag Jaeger

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Location:
    Gujarat, India
    #7
    Thanks ChristianJapan, same thing I did. I had taken program membership and running smoothly. Thanks for taking interest and for giving suggestion.
     

Share This Page