How to install OSX to external hard drive using 2 set CD

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by ssdesign, Aug 8, 2011.

  1. ssdesign macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2011
    #1
    Hi,
    I have following problem.

    My macbook HD died.Now I want to install OSX on new HD.
    I have original OSX cd's (2 no.s)
    I also have latest MacbookPro.

    So what I want to know is. What is the best way to install OSX to this new HD using my 2 disks.

    I have connected my new hd to the macbookpro.

    now, If I insert the cd's in my macbookpro, it tells me to reboot to install. but i am not sure if rebooting will installit on macbookpro or external hd?

    I dont want to risk anything.

    Thanks for any help...
     
  2. logana macrumors 65816

    logana

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #2
    Why don't you just put the new hd into the MacBook and install from the dvds that way..

    Are the install discs for the MacBook or the MacBook Pro ??
     
  3. Paulywauly macrumors 6502a

    Paulywauly

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Location:
    Durham, UK
    #3
    When you're installing it it should give you the option of selecting a disc to install it onto. Just run the installer as normal until you get to that point.

    Remember though that OSX can only install onto drives formatted as HFS+ (with a GUID partitioning table) you can do this using the disc utility. There are plenty of articles on the net for help with this, so if you get stuck Google it :)
     
  4. ssdesign thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2011
    #4
    The install disks are for Macbook, thats why I am not putting the HD into the Macbook pro.

    The CD's are of Tiger OS, and its not giving me an option to choose the HD to install. When I double click the installer, it says I need to restart to install. So not sure what it will do when it restarts.

    Will it erase my Pro or give me option to choose HD to install...
     
  5. ssdesign thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2011
    #5
    I just found out a way to re-download a copy of my Lios OS from Mac Store.

    Installing it on my external HD now.

    Hope it works....
     

Share This Page