How to install Windows 7 Beta?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by arthursiew, Jan 10, 2009.

  1. arthursiew macrumors 6502

    arthursiew

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #1
    I just downloaded it yesterday and then burning the stuff onto a disc didn't work since Boot Camp didn't recognize it. How do I install it? The install file is an exe file.
     
  2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
  3. deriko100 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Location:
    New York
    #3
    Well you can try virtual box, VMware fusion, or parallels, I just finished installing windows 7 beta 32 bit on VMware fusion and it works fine, so I recommend vmware fusion also if you dont have the key go here lifehacker has a nice little article about it good luck! Also if you downloaded the wrong thing lifehacker has some nice articles to help you also comment.
     
  4. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #4
    Did you download it from MS, or a torrent?

    If it was a torrent, you probably got a virus-infected version. Congrats.
     
  5. arthursiew thread starter macrumors 6502

    arthursiew

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #5
    Oops. I think I had to burn it into an ISO Image onto the disc.
     
  6. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #6
    You have to burn with Disk Utility, not just the ISO itself.
     
  7. arthursiew thread starter macrumors 6502

    arthursiew

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #7
    It worked! I used ImageBurner to burn it into an ISO image to a disc and it still worked. Thanks.
     
  8. ceilsuzlega macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    #8
    I'd suggest having vista on with the bootcamp drivers installed, then put 7 over the top of that, everything should work perfectly that way
     
  9. Farns514 macrumors 6502

    Farns514

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    Chicago
    #9
    Problem: I burned the ISO disc through disk utility, ran boot camp, through in 32 bit windows 7 beta disc, comes up with error 0xc00000e9 I/O error, the only thing that is plugged into my new MacBook unibody is the power cord. I can't get back to the mac OS x operating system, it will only allow me to keep on trying to reboot after I power down and then power up.

    Any guesses or help will be greatly appreciated
     
  10. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas

Share This Page