How to install Wordpress?

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by DJMastaWes, Jul 21, 2007.

  1. DJMastaWes macrumors 65816

    DJMastaWes

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    #1
    Hey guys. So, i decided I'm going to change my personal website into more of a technology (mac) blog type of thing. I really want to use Wordpress to do this, my only problem is, is that I have no idea how to install wordpress.

    I've read over 10 tutorials on how to install wordpress, but I can't seem to get anything to work.
    I'm must say, it's probably the most confusing thing I've encountered in a long time.

    Can anyone help me out on how to install it?

    Thanks in advanced.

    EDIT: I've gotten Wordpress to work, but I'm wondering how I can now upload my blog onto www.wyendrys.com.
    I use Godaddy as a host, and Transmit as a FTP client.
     
  2. DJMastaWes thread starter macrumors 65816

    DJMastaWes

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    #3
  3. dingdongbubble macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    #4
    Well I have not used Wordpress and really dont know what it is myself.:eek:

    I just saw this link sometime back.
     
  4. DJMastaWes thread starter macrumors 65816

    DJMastaWes

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    #5
    okay, i got it to work! I'm so happy!

    I have another question.
    Now that I got it to work, how can I make it work on "www.wyendrys.com"
     
  5. zimv20 macrumors 601

    zimv20

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    toronto
    #6
    uploading the WP files to a server isn't enough, you actually have to go through the install procedure on your site. install it in the public_html directory if you want your domain to resolve to the main WP page. you may want to back up your existing site first, as some files (most notably index.php) will be overwritten.

    then all you have to upload is your template directory (or whatever it's called in WP) and, perhaps, any MySQL content you want to preserve. no need to ftp up all the WP program files.

    and remove whatever is re-routing your index page to Site/Home.html.
     
  6. DJMastaWes thread starter macrumors 65816

    DJMastaWes

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    #7
    this is what I did.

    I deleted all my files that were under "site" in transmit, and replaced them with all the files that came with the wordpress download.
     
  7. zimv20 macrumors 601

    zimv20

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    toronto
    #8
    no, you actually have to run the install procedure on your server. uploading the files isn't enough. they're there, but not properly installed.
     
  8. DJMastaWes thread starter macrumors 65816

    DJMastaWes

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
  9. zimv20 macrumors 601

    zimv20

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    toronto
  10. DJMastaWes thread starter macrumors 65816

    DJMastaWes

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    #11
    I still don't understand.

    I'm looking for a way to apply my " http://localhost:8888/wordpress/ " to my www.wyendrys.com address. These instructions were mostly on how to set up word press (which I already did). I want to know how to now upload it to Godaddy.
     
  11. zimv20 macrumors 601

    zimv20

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    toronto
    #12
    well, clearly you didn't install it correctly, because this is what i see on your site:
    this means that WORDPRESS ISN'T RUNNING. get it running (per the instructions i linked to) before you worry about what it looks like.
     
  12. DJMastaWes thread starter macrumors 65816

    DJMastaWes

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    #13
    I don't understand the instructions at all, which is why I'm asking someone to help me with them.
     
  13. zimv20 macrumors 601

    zimv20

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    toronto
    #14
    customizing WP is more involved than getting it installed. if you can't get it running, you may want to consider another solution.

    not trying to be a jerk here, but WP isn't for everyone.
     
  14. DJMastaWes thread starter macrumors 65816

    DJMastaWes

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    #15
    I don't understand how it's not running. I'm using it, and i've customized it, added pages and stuff. I just can't get it online, which is what I'm asking.

    The instructions you gave me, are the same i followed to get into Wordpress, so, I don't think those are going to work in order to upload it to my server.

    EDIT: I followed the instructions, and now I can't even get into my wordpress. This is ridiculous.
     
  15. Nicolasdec macrumors 65816

    Nicolasdec

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Location:
    São Paulo
    #16
    I think wordpress IS for everyone its so easy to install. :):)
     
  16. zimv20 macrumors 601

    zimv20

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    toronto
    #17
    now you're just rubbing it in.

    no, i don't think it's for everyone because any customization of the templates requires some amount of HTML/php coding, and/or CSS manipulation. for those used to that stuff, WP works out rather well, but i don't think a lot of people are up for that. this is no comment on the OP, as he may be a CSS whiz, for example, but getting the thing installed is kind of an initial test.

    seems WP is in some kind of undefined state. if you're wanting to try again, i suggest you delete all WP stuff from your domain and start over. it's best to upload the WP zipfile into public_html and unzip it there. then overwrite (via ftp upload or editing on the server) the config file, and run the install.php on the server, not on your local machine.

    re-read those WP instructions. something obviously didn't go right and you should re-examine them.
     
  17. Lau Guest

    #18
    DJMastaWes, I feel your pain, because I tried to customise WordPress and it was frustrating as anything.

    However, it was easy to install, because although the instructions I found on the web to install in manually looked hideous (so I can quite see why you're having trouble) I found an option called "Fantastico" that installs it for you. Before you struggle any further, have a look in the control panel for your webhosting. If by some coincidence you also use asmallorange.com for your hosting it'll be in there, but if not check your hosting cpanel for something similar.

    If you do have it, and decide to use it, I'd back up the customisation you've already done first and let it install a default copy, as it may overwrite what you've got there already. If your cpanel doesn't have it, it might be worth seeing if your hosting company has a more up to date cpanel you can install that might have Fantastico in it.
     
  18. zimv20 macrumors 601

    zimv20

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    toronto
    #19
    actually, i recommend against using Fantastico. sometimes it screws up WP (well, not just WP) installs, and always (that i've seen, anyway) it's behind the current version of WP. that opens you up to exploits of known security flaws.

    here's how i recommend doing it, and maybe this will help the OP:

    1. go to the wordpress site and d/load the latest version
    2. unzip it, but keep the zipfile
    3. upload the zipfile to your server
    4. unzip it (in either public_html or a subdir)
    5. if you haven't already, create a mysql user and db for WP. this is on the server.
    6. edit your local config.php (or whatever it's called) to include the database info and any other needed info
    7. upload that config file to the server
    8. perform the install procedure on the server (by browsing to install.php)

    WP should now be working, and browsing to the site should produce the default WP page.

    NOW the customization of WP can begin. i prefer to download and edit templates locally, then ftp them to the server for testing. but it's equally valid to have a full WP/mysql install on your local machine for testing.

    caveat: i haven't done a WP install in over a year, so maybe stuff has changed in the meantime.
     
  19. DJMastaWes thread starter macrumors 65816

    DJMastaWes

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    #20
    hmm. I put all the files from the unziped wordpress folder on my server, and I made a mySQL database on godaddy, and entered all the info I have (username, database name and password).
    when I go to www.wyendrys.com it says "This either means that the username and password information in your wp-config.php file is incorrect or we can't contact the database server at localhost. This could mean your host's database server is down."

    I'm pretty sure all my entered info is correct. (atleast we're getting closer to resolving the problem now).

    Sorry if I'm asking questions that are easy to solve, but I don't understand this, and I really wanna have a site without using iWeb.
     
  20. zimv20 macrumors 601

    zimv20

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    toronto
    #21
    post your values. except the password, obviously. i bet you forgot to prepend your username and database name with the wyendr_ or whatever it is.
     
  21. DJMastaWes thread starter macrumors 65816

    DJMastaWes

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    #22
    <?php
    // ** MySQL settings ** //
    define('DB_NAME', 'WYendrys'); // The name of the database
    define('DB_USER', 'WYendrys'); // Your MySQL username
    define('DB_PASSWORD', '-------------); // ...and password
    define('DB_HOST', 'localhost'); // 99% chance you won't need to change this value
     
  22. zimv20 macrumors 601

    zimv20

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    toronto
    #23
    yeah, take a careful look at your cpanel/mysql page and see exactly what it thinks your database name and database username is. i bet it's something like wyendr_WYendrys. i.e. cpanel will prepend your cpanel username (or a portion of it) to distinguish it from others on the same server.

    so if someone called their database "wordpress", it won't conflict with someone else who called their database "wordpress".
     
  23. DJMastaWes thread starter macrumors 65816

    DJMastaWes

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    #24
    I'm not sure what cpanle is, but my database name says "WYendrys" and my username says "WYendrys" so I don't understand what's wrong. and the password I'm putting, is the same as my database password.
     
  24. zimv20 macrumors 601

    zimv20

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    toronto
    #25
    well, whatever you're using (if it's not cpanel), log into your database using those values w/o relying on WP. if you can, then it's a WP issue. if you can't, then your values are wrong.
     

Share This Page