How to Internet Thether?

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by iBryton, Mar 15, 2010.

  1. iBryton macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    #1
    K I was reading about my iPhone and I want to use my 3g on my laptop. How can I do this on version 3.1.3?

    Can 3g play games such as World of Warcraft?
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    I see that you have a 3Gs on AT&T. Because of this there is no way that you can enable tethering at this time. If you where still running 3.0.1 or 3.0 you could enable it using the help.benm.at hack. I'm not sure if they have gotten this to work with 3.1.3 yet. And because you have a 3Gs I'm guessing you can't downgrade because you don't have the 3.0.1 SHSH blobs for your iPhone.
     
  3. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #3
    You cant.
    In order to do that you need to JB your iphone and currently there no way to accomplish that on 3.1.3 with a 3GS.
     
  4. iBryton thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    #4
    Thanks for the help. Any reason why Apple is blocking these features?
     
  5. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #5
    AT&T has decided not to allow tethering at this time. Most other operators support it, and it's not Apple that's blocking it.

    In regard to your second question, WoW and Ventrilo work well over the HSPA network here, but I can't speak for other networks.
     
  6. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #6
    He has a 3G. All he had to do is downgrade to 3.0 or 3.0.1.
     
  7. chargit macrumors 6502a

    chargit

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Location:
    Evansville, In
    #7
    but it will work with a 3Gs 3.1.2 correct aggie?
     
  8. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #8
    Yes, on a 3G you can always downgrade but he was asking how to do it on 3.1.3
    For some reason I thought he was asking about the 3GS :)

     
  9. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #9
    Only if you JB or are on stock 3.0 or 3.0.1
     
  10. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #10
    Nope, just 3.0 or 3.0.1, unless jailbroken.

    Yeah, you may be right, but I couldn't tell if he was confused. Besides, why would he want to be on 3.1.3 anyway? It offers nothing.
     
  11. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #11
    I hear you.
    Useless update just to flush out remaining exploits till 4.0 hits beta IMO.
     
  12. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #12
    I think his iPhone is the 3Gs as shown by his signature. In the first post he is asking if he could use the 3g connection to surf the web and play games with.
     
  13. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #13
    I think thats what confused me:D
    Love how they leave stuff like that out and let us guess while trying to help them.
     

Share This Page