How to jailbreak 2.0?

Discussion in 'iPod touch Hacks' started by nish123456, Jul 20, 2008.

1. nish123456 macrumors member

I've never used Pwnage Tool before :confused: What do I do?

2. Critical Hippo macrumors member

First, this is for Macs. There is no tool for Windows yet. If you have Windows, you need to find some kind Mac user on the internet who is willing to send you the custom restore firmware that Pwnage creates for the iPod, unless that method does not work. I have not tried it.

Second, this is how I did it last night. I am not saying this is the correct way or the best way. I'm sure I screwed up somewhere along the way. However, I did get it working.

1. Grab a copy of the Ipod 2.0 official firmware that Apple released. If you officially upgraded, this should already be on your computer and you can go to Step 2. If not, see Step 1.a

1.a If you do not have the official firmware on your computer yet, either download it from Apple (not sure if you have to pay before you download or if it just prompts for the $9.95 when you want to install) or Google iPod1,1_2.0_5A347_Restore.ipsw and download the file. It's 200+ megs. When you have downloaded the file, Place it in Library/iTunes/iPod Software Updates.

2. Connect your iPod Touch to your Mac. Ignore Itunes and its requests to install that firmware you have.

3. Download and run Pwnage 2.0. Select iPod Touch from the middle of the screen and click Continue. At this point Pwnage should automatically locate the official Apple firmware on your hard drive. It will appear in the middle of the screen. Click it and then click Continue.

4. Pwnage will use that official firmware to build a custom firmware for your iPod Touch. This may take a bit and it may prompt you to enter your password. When it is finished, you should see iPod1,1_2.0_5A347_Custom_Restore.ipsw in the folder where the Pwnage app is located (I just had it on my desktop so it was right there).