How to jailbreak a factory unlocked iPhone 4

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Kooixiuhong, Jun 23, 2011.

  1. Kooixiuhong macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    #1
    Hi,this is my first post on this forum,I recently got a factory unlocked from Malaysia,my friend's iPhone 4 is running iOS 4.0.1 so they can jailbreak with limera1n but mine is on iOS 4.3 on baseband 4.10.01 so if I jb with snowbreeze would I need to hactivate it and will i still or lose my unlocked?


    Thx
     
  2. dave420 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    #2
    If your phone is factory unlocked you shouldn't have to worry about losing your unlock. There is a tutorial on jailbreaking using Redsn0w here:
     
  3. Kooixiuhong thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    #3
    To use redsnow do I need to be on iOS 4.3.3?because I am only on 4.3
     
  4. heisenberg123, Jun 23, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 23, 2011

    heisenberg123 macrumors 603

    heisenberg123

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #4
    you could update to 4.3.3 if your unsure, like the other poster says if it is truely a factory unlocked then you should lose it with a firmware update


    are you sure about your baseband? thats the same as mine and im locked to a carrier
     
  5. dave420 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    #5
    Redsn0w used to work with 4.3, so if the current version doesn't work than an older version should.
    I wouldn't expect the baseband to be different on a factory unlocked phone. Apple has the ability to unlock any phone, they just don't do it on AT&T phones.
     
  6. eastercat macrumors 68040

    eastercat

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    PDX
    #6
    You can't lose a factory unlock.
    Hacktivation is for locked phones.
    Go to iclarified or jailbreakmatrix to find out what software to use to jb your phone.
     
  7. hackthatphone macrumors 68000

    hackthatphone

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    #8
    Well mine is factory unlocked on 4.3.3 and i used redsnow and have no issues.

    Come one people this is a cake walk. You should be done already.
     

Share This Page