How to jump one word forward and back with MacBook keyboard

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Slip, Nov 8, 2007.

  1. Slip macrumors 6502a

    Slip

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    Wiltshire, England
    #1
    I have the new Santa Rosa MacBook and I noticed that when Im doing word processing or other text editing tasks I can't just jump one word back if I made an error for example.
    If I use Cmd + Left it takes me to the start of that line but I was wondering how I jumped just the one word.
    Thanks.
     
  2. squeeks macrumors 68040

    squeeks

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
  3. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
  4. cptpower macrumors regular

    cptpower

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
    #4
    that bugged me for a while too; Psychofreak's tip above will work just fine for that.

    FYI, the same can be used for deleting text (option-delete to remove the word, cmd-delete to remove from the cursor to the beginning of the current line)
     
  5. Slip thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Slip

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    Wiltshire, England
    #5
    Ahh thanks guys
    I had Option + Arrow set up for Spaces, hence me not finding it ;)
     
  6. Matteh117 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    #6
    I find this very useful when programming.

    Holding shift at the same time selects the text.
     
  7. Slip thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Slip

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    Wiltshire, England
    #7
    I use this all the time, saves me a ton of time and helps my laziness, I can just keep my fingers on the keyboard and not have to move to the mouse :)
     
  8. feyn-man macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #8
    I think this is the basic function of 'vi'.
     
  9. verity macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    #9
    Similar question: I have Spaces set up to switch with cmd - arrow keys (the only way to move around using just one hand). So now I don't know how to jump to the end/beginning of the line. It takes forever with option - arrow keys. Any suggestions?
     
  10. CarlsonCustoms macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    #11
    Wow, I didn't know any of those commands! Guess you DO learn something new everyday..

    Zack
     
  11. 622 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
  12. iMacDragon macrumors 65816

    iMacDragon

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #13
    My recommended solution, move spaces to ctrl+option arrows
     

Share This Page