How to keep HDD in Finder after ejection?

Discussion in 'OS X Mountain Lion (10.8)' started by Mdv2, Jan 31, 2013.

  1. Mdv2 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    #1
    I recently replaced my superdrive for a second HDD, which I use irregularly. When I don't use it, I eject it for the sake of power saving and noise reduction. However, it can only be reactivated from the Disk Utility Menu, which is not very convenient.

    Is it possible to simply eject it while at the same time keeping it visible for "re-activation" in the finder menu?
     
  2. sidewinder macrumors 68020

    sidewinder

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Northern California
    #2
    Write a shell script or get a program like iStat menus....

    S-
     
  3. Mdv2 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    #4
    Thanks guys. Istatmenu did the trick. It allowed me to switch off SMART for the 2nd HDD and now it keeps quiet most of the time.
     
  4. sidewinder macrumors 68020

    sidewinder

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Northern California
    #5
    iStat Menu has an option to show unmounted disks in the HDD menu. If you select the disk in the menu, it will mount.

    I have a disk that mounts only for nightly cloning and is unmounted when that is done. If I need to see the contents of that disk otherwise, I mount it using iStat....

    S-
     
  5. Mdv2 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    #6
    I figured that, but unmounting through iStat is not possible right?
     
  6. sidewinder macrumors 68020

    sidewinder

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Northern California
    #7
    Unmount the disk by dragging the disk icon to the trash......

    Scott
     
  7. talmy macrumors 601

    talmy

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Location:
    Oregon
    #8
    I create an alias of the drive icon. Then when I click on the alias the drive will mount and a Finder window will open on that drive. This also works for networked drives.
     
  8. sidewinder macrumors 68020

    sidewinder

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Northern California
    #9
    That doesn't work on my system.....I get this error if the disk has been ejected:

    The alias "Drive1" can't be opened because the original item can't be found.

    S-
     
  9. Krazy Bill macrumors 68030

    Krazy Bill

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    #10
    Go Here: http://www.kainjow.com

    Download Semulov 1.6. It's free. (And it works on Mountain Lion)

    It will put mount/unmount control for all drives in the menubar.
     
  10. desertman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Location:
    Arizona, USA
    #11
    MountnuoM: http://macupdate.com/app/mac/27097/mountnuom

    Unmounts and mounts again. Free.

    ----------

    Terrific and very elegant!
     
  11. talmy macrumors 601

    talmy

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Location:
    Oregon
    #12
    Ah, yes. I just tried it. I rarely attach drives locally but have lots of server shares and disk images -- it works with them.
     
  12. rezwits macrumors 6502a

    rezwits

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    #13
    Are you using Lion or Mountain Lion? I haven't been able to do that anymore :( Hasn't worked since the old days

    Laters...
     
  13. talmy macrumors 601

    talmy

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Location:
    Oregon
    #14
    Mountain Lion, but see my later post in this thread -- it works for network shares and for disk images (I use encrypted disk images for folders I need secured) but apparently doesn't work for mounting local drives like the OP was interested in. I didn't realize this since I don't have his usage model.
     
  14. Mdv2 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    #15
    It is all working well now. One more question though - shutdown takes relatively long (some 20 seconds) I have heard this is a commonly experienced problem in ML, but as soon as I hit the shutdown button, the 2nd HDD starts spinning up. Is it Mac trying to unmount it or could it be something else?
     
  15. talmy macrumors 601

    talmy

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Location:
    Oregon
    #16
    Probably.

    In any case I've solved the slow shutdown problem by not shutting my computers down. All the desktops use sleep after 30 minutes of inactivity and I just close the lid (to sleep) my MBP. My wife's MBA can go for weeks asleep, but I use my MBP every day and letting it sleep overnight uses at most 5% of the battery. And I get instant-on when I use it, just like it has an SSD!
     

Share This Page