How to keep the Macbook Pro fast??

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Shining23, Dec 13, 2011.

1. Shining23 macrumors newbie

Shining23

Hello everyone,
    I have bought a Macbook Pro one week ago.The configuration is given below:
    Display-13inch
    HD-750 GB
    Processor-i7 2.8 Ghz
    RAM-4GB

Till now it is working vesy fast and smoothly and I am quite happy with its performance.However most of my friend says that just like any other computing device,my Macbook Pro will also get slow.And this is what scares me the most because because I am a newbie and do not have enough knowledge on Mac OS system.So here are my question.

1) Do I need to download Mackeeper?
    2) How should I delete the junk files ?
    3) Do I need to download any apps that keeps my Mac working fast and if yes then please do suggest me one.

Thanks a lot.

2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

GGJstudios

Your MBP doesn't get slower. You only give it more tasks to do, which makes it seem slower.
    Absolutely not.
    The presence of files on your hard drive doesn't slow your computer.
    You really don't need "cleaner" or "maintenance" apps to keep your Mac running well, and some of these apps can do more harm than good. Most only remove files/folders or unused languages or architectures, which does nothing more than free up some drive space. It will not make your Mac run faster or more efficiently, since having stuff stored on a drive does not impact performance, unless you're running out of drive space.

Mac OS X does a good job of taking care of itself, without the need for 3rd party software.

For performance issues, there are a few things you can check:
    • Check your Login Items under System Preferences > Accounts to see what you have automatically launching.
    • Also check /Library/LaunchAgents/ and /Users/yourusername/Library/LaunchAgents/ for items launching at startup
    • Look at what widgets you may have running.