How to know if an unlock worked? (2G with 2.1 on Mac)

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by candyman, Sep 17, 2008.

  1. candyman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, Arizona
    #1
    Hi all,

    I just recently unlocked my wife's old 2G iPhone as she upgraded to the new 3G model.

    I ran both QuickPwn and Pwnage Tool on it. I can clearly see the jailbreak worked as both Cydia and Installer are on the springboard.

    However, I have no idea if the unlock worked or not. I assume so as when I restart the phone it says "Waiting For Activation. This May Take Some Time" with the Dismiss button on it.

    Also, under the General it lists the carrier as AT&T even though the phone says there is no service on the status bar at the top of the screen. Is this because the AT&T SIM card is still in it?

    When I plug it into iTunes, it recognizes the iPhone and wants to either activate it or use my other 2G iphone to restore it with.

    I do not have another carrier's SIM card to try and put into it to test it. Is there any giveaway that the unlock took or even a giveaway that it did NOT work?

    Thanks for all the input!
     
  2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    The only way to tell is to Pop A SIM*.

    *The act of putting any SIM from any carrier in the iPhone to see if it works.
     
  3. candyman thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, Arizona
    #3
    OK, if I can get a hold of one and pop it in, will I be harming the data of the persons phone I got it from? Also, with the other SIM card in it, it should boot up the phone just fine?

    I assume it will give some kind of error message if it sees a card it can't read?
     
  4. jdmstar macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    #4
    Yes itll show POP A SIM CARD IN.

    And when you plug in another sim card it should boot to the iphone screen with the bars all intatact ready t dial
     
  5. candyman thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, Arizona
    #5
    OK, well I am fortunate enough to have someone I work with who has T-Mobile.

    I asked to swap out their SIM card into my iPhone and got the "No SIM card" message. So apparently the unlock did not work.

    I am going to go back and try it a new way tonight using the iClarified tutorial this time and try swapping it again tomorrow to see what happens.

    I was really hoping to see it boot up and look for a signal :( Hopefully things will be better tomorrow.
     
  6. Warbrain macrumors 603

    Warbrain

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #6
    You answered your own question...

    If the phone still said "Waiting for activation" then no, the unlock didn't work.
     
  7. candyman thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, Arizona
    #7
    OK, well that brings up another question. When I performed this unlock and had my AT&T SIM card in it, it comes up with the "Waiting For Activation - This may take some time - Dismiss" message. In the top left of the menu bar it says "No Service"

    So, the phone needs to be activated with AT&T before I can unlock it?

    When I put the T-Mobile card in it, I got no activation message but just the "No SIM card" message. The top left menu bar said "No SIM."

    So, it see's the AT&T card but see's the phone is not activated. With the T-Mobile card, it see's nothing at all.
     
  8. Warbrain macrumors 603

    Warbrain

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #8
    That might be a firmware issue and just need a reflash.
     
  9. candyman thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, Arizona
    #9
    Thanks for all the input! I got it to work last night. I just followed the step-by-step tutorial on iClarified and tested it this morning with their card once again.

    T-Mobile came up in the menu bar and I was even able to make a phone call!

    Pretty cool seeing the T-Mobile on my iPhone!
     

Share This Page