How to lock my desktop? sides and bottom?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Kronie, Apr 13, 2009.

  1. Kronie macrumors 6502a

    Kronie

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    #1
    Is there a way in OSX so my desktop doesn't act like its in extended desktop mode. right now I can drag programs off the screen to the right and left and down. the top is locked.

    Is there a way to set it so the sides and bottom are locked as well?
     
  2. James Cole macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    #2
    Ok... it shouldn't act that way if you dont have other monitors connected...
     
  3. iLog.Genius macrumors 601

    iLog.Genius

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #3
    Could you be a little more specific on what the problem is? I don't quite understand. Thanks.
     
  4. mickbab macrumors 65816

    mickbab

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #4
    I think I know what you mean - you can move windows off the sides and off the bottom, but not past the top menu bar (see pic)? As far as I know this is just how it works and there is no way to stop it.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Kronie thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Kronie

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    #5
    My desktop acts as though its connected to another monitor like an extended desktop, but its not. there must be a way to lock your desktop so your open programs stay within the 17" screen.

    See here is my problem, its not a huge big deal but I would like to keep my programs inside my desktop:

    [​IMG]
     
  6. mickbab macrumors 65816

    mickbab

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #6
    No offense but I don't see a problem here. Can't you just not move your windows off the screen?
     
  7. UltraNEO* macrumors 601

    UltraNEO*

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    近畿日本
  8. twoodcc macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #8
    i think Leopard is meant to act this way. like when you press F11
     
  9. dantherevelator macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    #9
    This is just how it works.
     
  10. Kronie thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Kronie

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    #10
    Honestly, now that I have found out what expose does, its not as high on the list. Sometimes I can have 15 or more windows open and it was a pain to move them all out of the way to find the one I wanted. Like I said expose kind of fixed it but didn't know if there was a way to lock the sides. I don't think there is.
     
  11. mickbab macrumors 65816

    mickbab

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #11
    That's what I was trying to say
     
  12. ceezy3000 macrumors 6502

    ceezy3000

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Location:
    The Valley!!
  13. mickbab macrumors 65816

    mickbab

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #13
    i dont think that's quite what he is after :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page