How to make a folder invisible?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by timmyb, Nov 11, 2007.

  1. timmyb macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #1
    Is there a (relatively) simple way to make a folder hidden, without having to resort to 3rd party apps? I'm getting frustrated by the "Microsoft User Data" folder in my Documents folder, which won't move whatever I try.

    I've no idea if this topic has already been posted on, but when using the new (so-called improved :rolleyes:) search function, not a single entry came up despite searching pretty broad terms, ("hide folder", "invisible" etc etc.)
     
  2. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #2
  3. REBELinBLUE macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Location:
    London, UK
    #3
    That won't really work because if you rename the folder to add a . to the beginning Office will just recreate it.

    The only way I know how to do it is to install the developer tools and use the SetFile command from the terminal

    Code:
    /Developer/Tools/SetFile -a V ~/Documents/Microsoft\ User\ Data
    Should work. You might need to restart finder but I don't think so
     
  4. SolRayz macrumors 6502a

    SolRayz

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale
    #4
    I am trying to make my Windows Vista bootcamp partition hidden. I tried to follow the guide but it doesn't seem to work. Is this even possible? Thank you.:confused:
     
  5. REBELinBLUE macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Location:
    London, UK
    #5
    That is quite a bit more difficult, the only way I found was to modify one of the scripts that is run at startup to call diskutil and unmount the partition
     
  6. timmyb thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #6
    Tried using the ".Micro...." renaming and all was fine, including when I used Word/PowerPoint, but after running MSN it's back. Think i'll just have to learn to live with it. :(
     
  7. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #7
    It is possible, when in windows rename the drive to have a full stop at the beginning.

    I have a few apps that like to put crap there, very annoying so what I did was create a folder called Documents inside the Documents folder and then replaced the sidebar folder with this one, problem solved.
     

Share This Page