How to make a router hidden?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking' started by guitargoddsjm, Aug 31, 2009.

1. guitargoddsjm macrumors 6502

Hey all, I'm not positive that this is the right forum, but it is a networking related questions, so here goes...

I'm a freshman at Georgia Tech, and I was looking to put a wireless network in our room. Although we do have wireless internet available in the dorms, the connections are spotty and slow sometimes, but the big thing is that my room mate and I both have iPhone apps that need to sync over the same network as our Macs. In addition to this, we both have wireless printers that we've been sharing over the network.

Now, GT does allow routers, just not wireless networks. We originally tried to disable SSID broadcasting but we ran into problems, as the computers didn't automatically connect to the dorm network when we were inside the room. We then tried disguising the name as "T-Mobile Hotspot," as there is an At&t hotspot that shows up nearby.

During one of the IT department's routine inspections, they figured out we had a wireless network and set us an email about it. I'm not sure how they figured it out though...

Is there any way I can get around this? Like I said, it would make the usage of certain iPhone apps impossible and we'd have to run ethernet cables throughout the entire dorm to network the computers & printers.

The router is a Linksys WRT320N, if that helps

2. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

r.j.s

It's not going to be possible. If they scan for wireless networks, they will find it again.

Thinking more about it - you might be able to install DD-WRT on it and turn the xmit power down enough that it barely covers your room. With that and a non-broadcasting SSID, you might be in business.

3. CTJoyce macrumors member