How to make an ssd raid bootable

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by weswait, May 1, 2015.

  1. weswait macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 1, 2015
    #1
    to run yosemite


    cannot find anything on the internet

    thanks
     
  2. stjames70 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    #2
    Lots of variables

    I can speak from personal experience only.

    Setup:

    Areca 1882ix
    Eight Crucial M960 SSD drives in RAID 1+0 (4TB storage total, 4TB redundant)
    Two logical volumes, 2TB each

    There are two logical volumes of 2TB each because OSX would never let me boot from anything larger than 2TB.

    I am in the latest build of Yosemite, and the SSDs are rock solid and super fast. They will boot from either 2TB volume.

    MacPro 3,1
     
  3. weswait thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 1, 2015
    #4
    sorry for not being clear but running nMP late 2013

    and have a Pegasus2 M4 ssd RAID which is a thunderbolt 2 device and still having no luck finding and article that was posted by macworld or apple on how to install yosemite on a raid any help would be appreciated
     
  4. IowaLynn macrumors 6502a

    IowaLynn

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
    #5
    Has to be cloned onto, you cannot install, and won't allow recovery partition of course.
     

Share This Page