How to make bootable copy of system OS and apps to a External SSD

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by applelover4u, Nov 3, 2015.

  1. applelover4u macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    #1
    Got a SSD for a friend to put in his mac min or connect via USB which ever they choose

    How can i make a bootable copy of the system OS and the apps to the new SSD from the 2014 mac mini. The internal drive of the mac mini will be used for data

    They have a 1 TB drive that is connected to the mac mini right now to back up on
     
  2. Sciuriware macrumors regular

    Sciuriware

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2014
    Location:
    Gelderland
    #3
    http://www.shirt-pocket.com/SuperDuper/SuperDuperDescription.html
    I even make bootable USB sticks (just exclude some big user files).
    ;JOOP!
     
  3. firedept macrumors 603

    firedept

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere!
    #4
    I'll second Carbon Copy Cloner. It will do exactly what you are asking about.
     
  4. tibas92013 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2013
    Location:
    Costa Rica
  5. imanidiot macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #6
    CCC, absolutely. It has saved me from some stupid mistakes.
     
  6. CoastalOR macrumors 68000

    CoastalOR

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    #7
    CCC v4 has a 30 day free trial and it will also ask if you want to clone the Recovery partition (Super Duper does not provide this function).
     
  7. Fishrrman macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #8
    CarbonCopyCloner.

    Do you have enough reccomendations yet?
     
  8. applelover4u thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    #9
    HAHAHA
     
  9. applelover4u thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    #10
    Thanks , i figured all would say CCC but exactly how do i do it? do i just select the system and app folder?
     
  10. jbarley macrumors 68030

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #11
    When you run the application you just follow the prompts, each step is clear and is complete with an explanation of what is going to happen.
    It could not be any easier, really.
     
  11. CoastalOR macrumors 68000

    CoastalOR

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    #12
  12. c8rlo macrumors 6502

    c8rlo

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2015
    Location:
    FL
    #13
    this is an older version but works the same as the new one...
     
  13. applelover4u thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    #14
    one more thing. The drive is encrypted with file vault, do i need to disable filevault before making and transferring the clone to the SSD?
     
  14. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #15
    Nope... you can clone with it still on.
     
  15. applelover4u thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    #16
    Ok got everything I needed cloned over. Speeds are 200 write and about 450 read

    Now how do I see it ups o it will boot from the SSD?
     
  16. CelestialToys macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Location:
    up above the streets and houses
    #17
    System preferences>Start up disk>Choose the new disk and restart
     
  17. c8rlo macrumors 6502

    c8rlo

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2015
    Location:
    FL
    #18
  18. applelover4u thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    #19
  19. applelover4u thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    #20
    1 more issue. How do we access the internal hard drive now? it is not even showing in finder?
     
  20. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #21
    Do you mean that your hard drive (while you are booted to it) is not visible on the desktop?
    If you need to have the drive icon displayed, then go to Finder Preferences, then make sure that "Hard Disks" are set to show on the desktop.
     
  21. applelover4u thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    #22
    Its set and still not showing. I booted from the external SD by holding the option key at startup. Do i need to go into system preferences and change it that way for the internal hard drive to show? Also the internal drive is encrypted via file vault. Do I need to turn that off to see it?
     
  22. applelover4u thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    #23
    I figured it at. At startup when going onto the desktop a popup come sup asking me to unlock the internal hard rive since it is encrypted. Once I entered the password it shows now!
     
  23. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #24
    Ah, OK.
    That makes sense.
    Glad you got it sorted out!
     

Share This Page