How to make Link speed 2.5GT/s to 5.0GT/s on ATI card and Nvidia card

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by fouel, Feb 22, 2013.

  1. Cecco macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    #76
    Interesting! So you did it solely by comparing pictures of the different parts and narrowed it down to the single resistor that is only missing in the Mac edition.

    Wow, time consuming job!

    Nice to share your findings with the community. I'd be happy to donate a few bucks to get you a relaxing beer or coffee after the job if you tell me your Paypal email.
     
  2. fouel thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    #77
    I tried the the resistor under the power connector then got a brick card. The card failed to boot and atiflash.exe can't recognize it.
    That's all right.Everything is worth.
    Thanks J-MI.
     
  3. hmls macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2013
    #78
    i have the Powercolor HD7970 , remove the R17 , but still 2.5GT/s .. donna why :confused:
     
  4. GP-SE macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2013
    #79
    Thanks so much for taking the time to find this, and sharing it with the community!
    I will try this on my AMD Reference 7950 and report back.
     
  5. J-MI macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2012
    #80
    Strange...:confused:
    What is your powercolor model ?

    I have 2 powercolor :
    - HD7950 PCS+ Boost State who have the first reference design of R17 resistor: I removed the R17 resistor and got the 5.0 GT/s

    -HD7970 PCS+ Vortex II who have the second reference design of R17 resistor: I removed the R17 resistor and got the 5.0 GT/s

    Are you sure you have removed the R17 resistor?
     
  6. J-MI macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2012
    #81
    Thanks Cecco, you are cool;)

    But keep your money...Nektas do all his job for the Mac Pro community for free. It's because guys like him we can have mac EFI rom from radeon HD79XX. I use Nekta's work for free on my Mac Pro, I also use for free Dr. Stealth's job to add, in a very clean way, an extra power supply inside my Mac Pro for my radeon 7970.
    I found the R17 resistor tips to get the 5.0 GT/s on radeon 79XX, and I think it is normal after that to share my finding to the community for free.:)
     
  7. ActionableMango macrumors G3

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #82
    Good sleuthing, and thank you for sharing! :)

    Also, your English is just fine.
     
  8. hmls macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2013
    #83
    i think its just a normal version of 7970 , yes, i remove the R17, but didnt work .. :(

    link for the card : http://www.powercolor.com/us/products_features.asp?id=398
     
  9. Cecco macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    #84
    No idea whether it is needed but you've reset SMT and NVRAM?

    ----------

    I don't have plans for using a 7970 but what is it your talking about?

    ----------

    So I'm going to drink it to your success. ;)
     
  10. GP-SE macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2013
    #85
    I just removed R17 from my AMD Reference HD 7950 card, and it works!
    5.0GT/s!!!!
    Thanks SOOO much for this!!!!

    It should also work on 7970, since I'm 99% positive my card is actually a 7970 (6pin+8pin power, shows 2048 cores\128 in GPU-Z, but I use a 7950 BIOS to keep power under 225Watts)
     
  11. J-MI macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2012
    #86
    I don't know why....:mad::mad::mad:

    I can't help you without a detailled picture of the card's back.

    What is your Mac Pro model ?
    Early 2008, early 2009, Mid 2010 or Mid 2012 ?
     
  12. J-MI macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2012
    #87
    My Radeon 7970 has 2 eight pins connectors. It need at least 300 w of power. So I add a 450 W extra power supply to be safe with the card.
    For that, I done quite the same thing that Dr. Stealth's done in this post
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost.php?p=16662391&postcount=32.
     
  13. hmls macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2013
    #89
    my MacPro is 2009

    and here is my card
     

    Attached Files:

  14. J-MI macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2012
    #90
    Too small picture to see something. I tried to send to you a PM but a can't because of your profile configuration.
     
  15. hmls macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2013
    #91
    give me your email, i send you the photo :)
     
  16. fouel thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    #92
    It looks like you removed the wrong resistor (C18).
    The R17 is upper and C18 is lower.
    see the arrow in picture.
     

    Attached Files:

  17. hmls macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2013
    #93
    i tried both, first remove R17, then R18 ..no luck :mad:
     
  18. J-MI macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2012
    #94
    For that, you must activate the capability to receive PM in your profile. I don't want communicate my email on the forum.
     
  19. Inconsequential macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    #95
    ??

    Your email isn't shown on your profile if you activate PM?
     
  20. hmls macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2013
    #96
    i think ok now :D
     
  21. J-MI macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2012
    #97
    PM sent
     
  22. Cecco macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    #98
    Finally heated up my soldering station and removed the R17 on my HIS 7950 (well actually the whole block had no parts numbering but the layout was identical to the pictures posted, so it was no problem to locate R17).

    Man this thing is tiny. You can hardly see it with bare eyes. I'm happy to have to do this only once. And a warning to those with little experience in soldering. This is a tough job that needs the right tools, good eyes and steady hands or you will brick your card. Luckily I have all those except the good eyes, which I supported by a head-loupe. ;) Given the little improvement you see in real world apps, think twice before you start the adventure.

    Put card back in case, powered up and it shows 5.0 speed. :D

    Had a bit of weird benchmark performance and a freeze of the system until I've reset the NVRAM. So I'd recommend to do this immediately after the mod.
     
  23. hmls macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2013
    #99
    Email sent, thx :D
     
  24. J-MI, Apr 26, 2013
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2013

    J-MI macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2012
    #100
    OK.
    On the picture, the R17 resistor is still présent, so if you want to get the 5.0 GT/s, you must remove it.
    Are you sur the R18 resistor is now in good condition ? because on the picture you send to me it looks bad...
    When you removed the R17 resistor the first time, are you sure you didn't make a tin link between the resistors ?
    Your picture is not very detailled but it seems there is a tin link between R16 and R17 resistor and may be also between R18 and R17.

    Really, I don't understand why it's doesn't work for you. You seem to be the only one...I'm so sorry for you.
     

Share This Page