How to Make Mac OS Extended to NTFS?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by littlegreenyoda, Oct 13, 2009.

  1. littlegreenyoda macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    #1
    Hi,

    I currently have a mac and a windows pc, and need to transfer files between these two computers.

    My Harddisk was formatted to Mac OS Extended and can someone please guide me how to format it to NTFS since Windows cant recognize my harddisk?

    Thank you
     
  2. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #2
    You're talking about an external hard drive here, right?
     
  3. TuffLuffJimmy macrumors G3

    TuffLuffJimmy

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #3
    You can't convert from one to the other without losing all your data. And OS X can't run on an NTFS partition.

    Having said that:
    Open up Disk Utility and erase the drive, tell it to format as NTFS.
     
  4. HBOC macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Location:
    SLC
    #4
    cant the OP install flip4mac to transfer some files? I know it is limited to 4GB files (no single file larger than 4GB)...
     
  5. TuffLuffJimmy macrumors G3

    TuffLuffJimmy

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #5
    flip4mac is a collection of video codecs...
     
  6. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #6
    I think you're very confused.

    Flip4mac is a codec that allows QuickTime to play WMA and WMV files. It has nothing to do with filesystems.

    FAT32 is limited to 4 GB files, but NTFS is not. Nobody has mentioned using FAT32.
     
  7. HBOC macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Location:
    SLC
    #7
    I meant ntfs-3g, not flip4mac. Funny that i said that because I was using it earlier:) .
     
  8. littlegreenyoda thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    #8
    Yes, its an external hard disk.

    My data is not important. So its alright to wipe it all out.

    Just that i need some guidance on how to format it to NTFS-3G by using macbook so that my windows pc can also transfer files in and out of this hard-disk

    Thanks!
     
  9. TuffLuffJimmy macrumors G3

    TuffLuffJimmy

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #9
    Have you tried the disk utility thing I suggested many posts ago?
     
  10. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #10
    Install MacFUSE and NTFS-3G, then use Disk Utility to format, as Jimmy says.
     

    Attached Files:

    • ntfs.png
      ntfs.png
      File size:
      151.5 KB
      Views:
      1,518
  11. littlegreenyoda thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    #11
    Yes. Tried it but the prob is i do not see NTFS in the dropdown box.

    I only saw NTFS at "partition".

    Yes. MacFuse is installed together with NTFS-3G, but under the "Erase" Tab, i do not have this option.

    Thank you for the screenshot btw.
     
  12. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #12
    Okay, nevermind.
     
  13. littlegreenyoda thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    #13
    Do you have any idea what can i do about it?
     
  14. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #14
    Use Windows to format it instead. I don't use Windows much, but I think you just have to right-click on the drive and select Format.
     
  15. littlegreenyoda thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    #15
    I cant. Windows cant detect my HDD which is already in Mac OS Extended.

    What is RAID? I can only see NTFS-3G under RAID
     
  16. Shownarou macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Location:
    Newton, IA
    #16
    Format the hard drive as FAT in OSX, then plug it into your Windows box and format it to NTFS from there. :)
     
  17. littlegreenyoda thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    #17
    Thank you!

    NTFS-3G can be formatted using Windows?

    Do i need to install any additional software on Windows?
     
  18. Shownarou macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Location:
    Newton, IA
    #18
    I honestly don't know much about Windows... I just know that you don't have the option to format to NTFS in OSX, and Windows won't recognise a MacOS Journaled drive..

    *edit* NTFS 3g is Mac OS software to allow you to read and write to that NTFS partitioned drive on your Mac. It has nothing to do with the formatting of the drive in Windows.
     
  19. littlegreenyoda thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    #19
    Ok. i will try tomorrow morning on my windows pc!

    Thank you Shownarou!
     
  20. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #20
    Actually, Windows should see the drive, even if it can't be read. I use MacDrive when I run Boot Camp, but before MacDrive is installed, Windows always prompts me to format the "unreadable" Mac-formatted drives/partitions. I can see them listed with drive letters in My Computer, but double-clicking on the drives (if memory serves) just opens an empty window.
     
  21. madog macrumors 65816

    madog

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Location:
    Korova Milkbar
    #21
    Really? I've never had Windows ask that when using a partitioned boot drive to boot Windows. Maybe if you are using an external or something? In the times I have installed it, Windows knows there is a partition there but doesn't recognize it or display it otherwise.

    Using a flash drive formatted for Mac I have seen that, and then when you try to open it up it's a blank window and it asks to format it. Then again, I exclusively use XP and not Vista.

    I'm not implying anything, just sounds odd to me.



    And for the OP, if you format the drive as MS-DOS, it uses an old FAT format which is the same as all flash drives use which is Windows/Mac compatible. but has a single file limit of 4GB. If you don't have such large files then I would suggest it for the best compatibility and stability. If you end up formatting the drive to NTFS, Windows can read and write files to it, but the Mac OS can only read the files, as mentioned earlier in a few seperate posts. So you would be able to take files from the PC to the Mac, but not the other way around.

    The problem with NTFS in general, and specifically with NTFS3G being used on a Mac, if you do not eject the device properly you can lose the file system and all data on it. It's not so much a problem on Windows because Windows knows it's a problem, and it's not so much an issue with NTFS being used on a Mac because it can only view the file system, but with the NTFS3G, if you disconnect the drive, or you have a power failure you're more likely to have a serious problem than with FAT.
     
  22. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #22
    I'm an XP user as well. All I do on Windows is play games, and I'd rather use a lighter OS for the purpose.

    I'm pretty sure Windows reacts that way, anyway. It has been a long time since last I installed Windows. Maybe, as you say, it was reacting to my Time Machine external hard drive.

    I have my other external drive formatted to NTFS, since NTFS doesn't have the fragmentation problem that FAT does, and I do often deal with files > 4 GiB. I have on several occasions had problems with the drive refusing to mount, but simply connecting the drive to a running Windows computer and properly ejecting it is all that it takes to get the drive back to normal. By my understanding, this is because NTFS has an "in use" flag that NTFS-3G sees and respects, while Windows clears the flag properly but doesn't mind if it's already set when the drive is first connected.
     
  23. madog macrumors 65816

    madog

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Location:
    Korova Milkbar
    #23
    How else are we expected to play Fallout 3 without a new console?

    I believe I have heard that, but at the same I want to say that it can also turn out disastrous more so than another filesystem in the same situation. However, it may just be my misinformation about seeing people freaking out when they initially encounter that problem.

    Edit: This always scared me Microsoft: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/940508. While it says a SP should fix it........ ehhhhhhhhh.
     
  24. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #24
    Uh, in Windows?
     

Share This Page