How to: Make partition larger for Vista

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by ViperDesign, Aug 22, 2007.

  1. ViperDesign macrumors 6502a

    ViperDesign

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Location:
    Utah
    #1
    I have installed vista using boot camp. I barely use it but I do use it for gaming. The initial size I put down is too small and only leaves me around 3 gigs to play with. I would like to add another 10 gigs to the partition that Vista is on.

    Is this possible without having to reinstall and deleting the old partition?

    Thanks
     
  2. Santa Rosa macrumors 65816

    Santa Rosa

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Location:
    Indiana
    #2
    As I believe it you would have to start from scratch with Boot Camp to get the partition size larger, open to correction if that is untrue though.

    As a guide I saw an idea on the internet to give the percentage of your harddrive space by the amount of time you will be using that partition, so if your on Windows half the time and OSX the other half you would partition it 50 / 50. Not so sure about that theory but I suppose it could give a better idea.

    You will have to take into account as well that if its gaming your just going to need more space!!! Some games are just massive!!!

    Hope that helps, sorry if Im the bearer of bad news!!!
     
  3. ViperDesign thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ViperDesign

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Location:
    Utah
    #3
    yeah that helps. The only reason I use it is for gaming so I just want to make sure I have a few more gigs of space.

    Thanks for the help, looks like I might have to reinstall :(
     
  4. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #4
    Try Winclone. I've used it sucessfully lots of times with XP.
     
  5. Jiddick ExRex macrumors 65816

    Jiddick ExRex

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Location:
    Roskilde, DK
    #5
    Use Vista's built-in backup utility to an external drive. Undo the partitions using boot camp, put it in Vista install dvd, rebuild from previous backup and voila. Time saved. :)
     

Share This Page