How to make sure apps are closed?

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by macswitcha2, Jul 26, 2009.

  1. macswitcha2 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    #1
    How do I know for sure if apps are closed? Would this save battery power?
     
  2. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #2
    Not sure, I used to be able to force quit safari until 3.0 by holding down the home button. Now it seems to do nothing.
    I would buy something like iStat for the iPhone.
     
  3. bradenwh macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    #3
    1.) You force quit an app by holding down the sleep/wake button until the shut down prompt comes up, then hold down the home button.

    2.) There is an iStat app for iPhone.

    Oh, and all App Store apps quit upon pressing the home button. ALL of them. All you have to worry about is Cydia apps, iPod, Mail, Phone, and Safari. But Phone and Mail are going to run in the background no matter what.
     
  4. macswitcha2 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    #4
    So I tried closing Safari with the home button and it went to a screen that read, Voice Control.....
     
  5. bradenwh macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    #5
    You didn't read my directions correclty. Hold down sleep/wake until you get the slide to shutdown, and with the slider still there, hold down the home button.
     
  6. macswitcha2 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    #6
    Gotcha...I guess I didn't know what the home button was, I thought it was the button at the bottom....
     
  7. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #7
    It is the button at the bottom. You have the 3GS, so the home button causes voice recog. So again, to force quit an app you hold the sleep/wake button until the red slider appears to turn off your phone, then hold the home button until it goes to the SpringBoard. Got it?

    Edit: Oh, and there are those on here that'll tell you that the memory taken up by apps that are closed takes up battery life. I don't buy it, but you can always reboot your phone (hold the home and power buttons for 10 seconds) to clear the memory. Or you do as jessica suggested, if you want to spend money.
     
  8. macswitcha2 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    #8
    Hmm...the button on the top didn't do anything either...it went to the off slide with the option to cancel. BTW, I have iPhone 3g s....
     
  9. macswitcha2 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    #9
    Every time I hold the bottom button, it goes to voice recognition. You then hold it again and it does nothing....

    Ok, I got it....thanks for hanging in there with me....LoL
     
  10. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #10
    I'm glad, because you were probably going to get flamed by some of the other members on here before too long! :D
     

Share This Page