How to manual choose your firmware from iTunes

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by ahawks, Aug 25, 2010.

  1. ahawks macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Bowling Green, KY
    #1
    I was wondering if there is a way that you can manual reload the firmware on your iPhone through Itunes. I have 4.0.1 downloaded on my desktop on my mac. Any way I can make Itunes to reload it?
     
  2. 01jamcon macrumors 6502a

    01jamcon

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #2
    Press the option/alt key while clicking on "restore"
     
  3. ahawks thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Bowling Green, KY
  4. aristobrat macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #4
    There's more to getting on your iPhone than just selecting the older image in iTunes, but I'd imagine you've already discovered that. :)
     
  5. ahawks thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Bowling Green, KY
    #5
    Yea. What I am trying to do is re-install Cydia on 4.0.2 just to see if i saves the Shsh file.
     
  6. Cinemagic macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    #6
    Be sure to have changed your private/etc/hosts file to redirect the Apple signature to Cydia's site.


    Editing the hosts file

    Editing the hosts file in Mac OS X – Leopard, is a pretty easy task, especially if you are familiar with the terminal.

    GO here to Saurik's website for instructions:

    http://www.saurik.com/id/12

    Here's the specific instructions to edit the Hosts file on a Mac:

    http://decoding.wordpress.com/2009/04/06/how-to-edit-the-hosts-file-in-mac-os-x-leopard/

    Remember that Hosts is a hidden file so you'll have to show all files. You also need to have a password. If you have your Mac set up to login without a password, you'll need to change it to have a password before you can make the changes in Terminal.
     
  7. ahawks thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Bowling Green, KY
    #7
    I am trying to think what I type in the terminal.

    I can not get passed the instruction that says

    "So, open the file C:\Windows\System32\drivers\etc\hosts (Windows) or /etc/hosts (Mac OS X) and add the following entry to the bottom of the file."

    help please.
     
  8. TMar macrumors 68000

    TMar

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ky
    #8
    Use note pad.

    Edit: NVM I see mac in your first post.


    $ sudo nano /private/etc/hosts
     
  9. ahawks thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Bowling Green, KY
    #9
    Last login: Thu Aug 19 17:37:43 on console
    andy-hawkss-macbook-pro:~ Andy$ /etc/hosts
    -bash: /etc/hosts: Permission denied
    andy-hawkss-macbook-pro:~ Andy$ /etc/hosts06TMPhaz1
    -bash: /etc/hosts06TMPhaz1: No such file or directory
    andy-hawkss-macbook-pro:~ Andy$ /etc/hosts/06TMPhaz1
    -bash: /etc/hosts/06TMPhaz1: Not a directory
    andy-hawkss-macbook-pro:~ Andy$ /etc/hosts/
    -bash: /etc/hosts/: Not a directory
    andy-hawkss-macbook-pro:~ Andy$
    andy-hawkss-macbook-pro:~ Andy$ /etc/hosts
    -bash: /etc/hosts: Permission denied
    andy-hawkss-macbook-pro:~ Andy$ /etc/hosts06TMPhaz1
    -bash: /etc/hosts06TMPhaz1: No such file or directory
    andy-hawkss-macbook-pro:~ Andy$ /etc/hosts
    -bash: /etc/hosts: Permission denied
    andy-hawkss-macbook-pro:~ Andy$ /etc/
    -bash: /etc/: is a directory
    andy-hawkss-macbook-pro:~ Andy$ /etc/hosts
    -bash: /etc/hosts: Permission denied
    andy-hawkss-macbook-pro:~ Andy$ /etc/hosts/06TMPhaz1
    -bash: /etc/hosts/06TMPhaz1: Not a directory
    andy-hawkss-macbook-pro:~ Andy$ /etc/hosts06TMPhaz1
    -bash: /etc/hosts06TMPhaz1: No such file or directory
    andy-hawkss-macbook-pro:~ Andy$ /etc/hosts
    -bash: /etc/hosts: Permission denied
    andy-hawkss-macbook-pro:~ Andy$ /etc/hosts(Mac OS X)
    -bash: syntax error near unexpected token `Mac'
    andy-hawkss-macbook-pro:~ Andy$ /etc/hosts(Mac OS X)06TMPhaz1
    -bash: syntax error near unexpected token `Mac'
    andy-hawkss-macbook-pro:~ Andy$ /etc/hosts74.208.10.249 gs.apple.com
    -bash: /etc/hosts74.208.10.249: No such file or directory
    andy-hawkss-macbook-pro:~ Andy$ /etc/hosts/list
    -bash: /etc/hosts/list: Not a directory
    andy-hawkss-macbook-pro:~ Andy$ /etc/hostslist
    -bash: /etc/hostslist: No such file or directory
    andy-hawkss-macbook-pro:~ Andy$ /etc/list
    -bash: /etc/list: No such file or directory
    andy-hawkss-macbook-pro:~ Andy$ /etc/hosts74.208.10.249
    -bash: /etc/hosts74.208.10.249: No such file or directory
    andy-hawkss-macbook-pro:~ Andy$ /etc/hosts/74.208.10.249
    -bash: /etc/hosts/74.208.10.249: Not a directory
    andy-hawkss-macbook-pro:~ Andy$ /etc/hosts/
    -bash: /etc/hosts/: Not a directory
    andy-hawkss-macbook-pro:~ Andy$ /etc/hosts
    -bash: /etc/hosts: Permission denied
    andy-hawkss-macbook-pro:~ Andy$ private/etc/hosts
    -bash: private/etc/hosts: No such file or directory
    andy-hawkss-macbook-pro:~ Andy$ private/etc/hosts




    That is what all i have tried so far
     
  10. TMar macrumors 68000

    TMar

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ky
    #10
    I don't understand this? To see if what saved your SHSH file? Cydia? I take it your using a 3g?
     
  11. ahawks thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Bowling Green, KY
  12. TMar macrumors 68000

    TMar

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ky
    #12
    So your on 4.0.2 and you want to go back to 4.0.1? Because you can't 're-install' cydia on 4.0.2.. I'm not entirely sure you what you want when your not using the incorrect terminology. If your just trying to see if cydia stored your blobs for 4.0.1 then there's easier ways than restoring..
     

Share This Page