How to mount 2.5" drives in a Mac Pro?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by 50thVert, Aug 28, 2008.

  1. 50thVert macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #1
    Hello all,
    I'm going to be receiving my new mac pro soon and a friend has some 74GB 2.5" SAS drives that I am considering using for some fast storage. How would I go about mounting these up in the 3.5" Mac Pro drive bays?
     
  2. tobyg macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    #2
    Some people have gotten 2.5 to 3.5 adapters and then just unscrewed the connector and plugged them in carefully, but that's quite a pain.

    Not only that, but do you have a SAS controller or the Apple Raid controller? Onboard will only do SATA, not SAS.
     
  3. 50thVert thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #3
    Ah, was not aware the onboard did not handle SAS.

    Well the same question applies for 2.5" SATA SSD's. What is the best way to mount one of these in a Mac Pro's stock 3.5" drive bay?
     
  4. tobyg macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    #4
    Same as what I said. But it's not a clean way to do it.

    Why buy 2.5" SATA drives when 3.5" drives have more capacity, cheaper, and faster? The only thing 2.5" gets you is less heat, which isn't a huge concern in such a large case.
     
  5. 50thVert thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #5
    I was planning on going with a 2.5" SSD drive, which is why I asked. Looks like there is no aftermarket carrier that will easily adapt a 2.5" drive to the 3.5" bays, and I don't wanna go unplugging things and letting stuff just sit in the case unrestrained.

    Time to find a cheap 150GB Raptor. :)
     
  6. UltraNEO* macrumors 601

    UltraNEO*

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    近畿日本
    #6
    I take it you didn't use Google much... cause i found cause I found this, possible solution perhaps? ... Though it's not very "technical"
    And there's this aftermarket carrier!!



    Also if you search the forums you can find a thread about installing four 2.5" drives in the lower optical bay...
    This topic has been covered before. Look... someone did it here!!
     
  7. 50thVert thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #7
    You "took" wrong. Google did not yield the result I was looking for: A clean install of a 2.5" drive into the 3.5" bays. That particular solution is almost worse than just sitting the drive into the bay and hoping it stays connected.

    I saw the threads about putting them in the lower optical bay and decided not to go that route as well.
     
  8. UltraNEO* macrumors 601

    UltraNEO*

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    近畿日本
    #8
    Huh? You can always resort to some DIY..

    Just becaise someone used some tape, doesn't mean you can't improvise and improve on their technic.
    Buy some sheet metal, M3 spacers and get a drill, make some holes in the sheet metal then mount your
    2.5" drive on them. I think a child with a little creativity can manage this.


    :confused: english?
     
  9. 50thVert thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #9
    The solution I was looking for doesn't exist: A replacement drive slide that securely mounts 2.5" drives into the 3.5" bays in the Mac Pro. I don't want to just sit the drives in there, tape them to whatever I can, or take up an optical bay I may fill with a Bluray burner at some point.
     
  10. UltraNEO* macrumors 601

    UltraNEO*

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    近畿日本
    #10
    I know that... that's why i suggested you be a little creative. Get some sheet metal and make something, secure it to the existing drive sledge - it's not that hard to imagine, just takes some designing.
     
  11. Rick Here macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    #11
    Buy a new style Velociraptor it will fit perfectly in the 3.5" bay. You then can replace the 2.5" drive in it with an SSD if you choose. Kind of expensive way to do this though, but you will end up with a fast 150GB 2.5" sata drive.
     
  12. 50thVert thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #12
    Did they recently change the Velociraptor? I was under the impression that it didn't fit because the ports were misaligned?
     
  13. costabunny macrumors 68020

    costabunny

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Location:
    ~/bunny/
    #13
  14. brand macrumors 601

    brand

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #14
    It does. I have the new 80GB VelociRaptor with the new backplane mount and it slides right in.
     
  15. costabunny macrumors 68020

    costabunny

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Location:
    ~/bunny/
    #15
    Cool - if only SSD's were'nt becomming cheaper I'd get 4 of those baby's - shame I am gonna wait for a backplane kit for 2.5" and SSD up :)

    (My 4 Hitachi drives are pretty damned quick now so I cant justify going Raptor)...

    :S but it is good news for us Mac Pro users indeed.

    (but 300GB for £160 is still a big gradient in my opinion as thats 1.5TB in 7200 speed format)
     
  16. Thiol macrumors 6502a

    Thiol

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    #16
    We've discussed the 2.5" to 3.5" issue several times here (usually with me asking). This is the cleanest adaptor we've found. Built for the Velociraptor but supposedly good for any 2.5" drive, SATA or SSD.

    http://www.maxupgrades.com/istore/i...&product_id=180&CFID=1065021&CFTOKEN=71791031
     
  17. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #17
  18. Thiol macrumors 6502a

    Thiol

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    #18
    Hehe. Nanofrog should get credit. He was the first one to suggest it!
     
  19. pjarvi macrumors 65816

    pjarvi

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Location:
    Round Lake, IL
    #19
    You could spend $48 on those, or if you just want some simple 2.5" to 3.5" rails, you could spend $8 on these from Amazon:
    41yga4Nk6BL._AA280_.jpg

    (Edit) That is, unless the hard drive is held in upside down from the screws on the bottom? I don't have a Mac Pro so i'm not sure.
     
  20. HunterMaximus macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    Toronto, ON, Canada
    #20
    A simple adaptor like that won't work. For one thing, the drives are held in by the screws on the bottom, but more importantly, the key here (and the reason the original VelociRaptors didn't work) is that the drives have to line up to the standard SATA placement for 3.5" drives. An adaptor like that would put the connectors roughly in the middle, rather than at the lower left corner (when looking at the back of the drive sitting normally).

    The best bet is probably the MaxUpgrades one, unless getting a VelociRaptor and using the sled is appealing (not a cheap idea by any means), or having one custom made (tricky and also probably expensive considering the precision required).
     
  21. Thiol macrumors 6502a

    Thiol

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    #21
    Just wanted to confirm that the MaxUpgrades adaptor does indeed work well for drives other than the Velociraptor. I was able to get a 2.5" SSD in with one.
     
  22. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #22
    Good to know it works for certain. :D

    Thanks. :)
     
  23. hayduke macrumors 65816

    hayduke

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    is a state of mind.
    #23
    Any good prices on the back-plane ready Velociraptor's? Are the really ~$100 more than the non-back plane ready version? That seems crazy. I could by the MaxUpgrades adapter with the same drive for $50 less.
     
  24. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #24
    The best price I found today for the WD3000BLFS was $308.99, so yes, they're still crazy. :eek: :D But if you have a true 2.5" backplane, no Mac Pro and the option of MaxUpgrade's mount, you have to have them. :(

    In the case of the Mac Pro, you have the right idea. Just get the WD3000GLFS and a MaxUpgrades drive mount for it, and pocket the cash. :p

    You won't be disappointed with the performance. :D I've gotten spoiled. :p
     
  25. rockinrocker macrumors 65816

    rockinrocker

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    #25
    I tried those clips from Amazon and they don't fit right. there was no way to make 'em work, cheap pieces o' junk.
     

Share This Page