how to move not copy

Discussion in 'macOS' started by 4now, Jan 10, 2008.

  1. 4now macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    #1
    Hi I want to move(drag) folders from one finder window to another.

    From my laptop to by backup drive.

    This always results it a copy of the folder being left in the original place.
    which i then need to delete.

    How do I move & not copy

    Thanks
     
  2. emw macrumors G4

    emw

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    #2
    Hold down the command :)apple:) key when you drag.
     
  3. bartelby macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
  4. arretx macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    #4
    When I use the command key, I can get only one file at a time to move. How do you select all files in a folder then MOVE them ALL to another folder.
     
  5. garretruh macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #5
    Go up a level in the folder hierarchy, and then select that folder. Then use the command key to move it.
     
  6. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #6
    Definitely a nice tip. :)
     
  7. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

    angelwatt

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #7
    Don't start holding cmd until after you start dragging the files, and don't release cmd until after you release the mouse button. Actually, you just need to make sure you're holding cmd when you release the files are their new location.
     
  8. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #8
    I'm with bartelby - just seems a bit safer if I do the delete action, besides by going this route the deleted files stay in the trash until I empty it. Just in case something happened
     
  9. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #9
    This.

    I think the lack of Cut/Paste is one of Finder's biggest flaws. I don't always like going back and deleting files, and sometimes I forget to press Cmd.
     
  10. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #10
    love learning new things everyday :D

    i agree. ensures that i dont delete something!
     
  11. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #11
    The funny thing is there was a nasty bug in OSX at one point that if you moved files/folders from one drive to another, you could corrupt/lose the data. That has been since resolved but by copying stuff then deleting you avoid such potential issues.
     
  12. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #12
    upon hearing that. i will NEVER use that trick that i just learnt (on my computers anyway eheh).
     
  13. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #13
    They fixed the bug.
     
  14. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #14
    i know. still pays to be careful. copy paste it is.
     
  15. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #15
    Oh goodie, let's get into another debate about how Apple should "fix" the Finder so things move by default instead of copy. :rolleyes:
     
  16. MacBoobsPro macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #16
    If you cut and the power goes out before pasting won't you lose what you have cut? I don't like the idea of cutting and pasting important files.
     
  17. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #17
    I'm not saying it should change the way it handles drag-and-drop, that is fine.

    I would like Cmd-X to cut files though.
     
  18. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #18
    +100 here

    I agree completely, I wish the Finder would add this functionality.


    No the operation is a little different, because you can cut a file in windows and then hit escape to cancel the operation.
     
  19. MacBoobsPro macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #19
    But if the power goes isnt the information lost because its on the clipboard?

    Also pressing 'command' is easier and quicker than pressing 'command x' 'command v'. Its much more user friendly and intuitive. I'm not against Cut and paste but it just doesnt seem necessary to me.
     
  20. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #20
    good point. but low chances.

    i disagree, you should see how quick i am with shortcuts ;) moving the mouse to drag n drop just isnt as fast imo.
     
  21. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #21
    Yes I do.

    Unfortunately, I think this is one tip that I used to know but have forgotten. :eek:

    Glad for the reminder. :)
     
  22. yg17 macrumors G5

    yg17

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #22
    No, in Windows, if you cut a file, it's not actually deleted until it's pasted somewhere else. So if you cut a file and lose power, or go and copy something else to the clipboard, the file isn't erased.
     
  23. MacBoobsPro macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #23
    I use short cuts extensively as Im a graphic designer and tend to do most of my work using shortcuts (so much faster).

    Using cut and paste you have to select the item, press 2 buttons, select the window you want to paste to and then press 2 more buttons.

    Drag and drop: selection is part of the drag so its only one move and just hold command. Much easier in my opinion. :) If you want to drill down just hold over a folder and it will open.
     
  24. Tex-Twil macrumors 68020

    Tex-Twil

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Location:
    Europe
  25. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #25
    Oh does it, I'll have to take another look at it. I tried it back in version 2 or 3 (I forget at this point)

    I found it a bit slow, hopefully there's no performance issues now.
     

Share This Page