How to move the windows freely?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by hyungsup, Aug 20, 2011.

  1. hyungsup macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #1
    I don't know what's the name of the bar at the top.
    But do you know the way that you can't move the windows under the bar?
    It's really annoying since I'm using macbook air 11" and I want more space available.
    It feels like when I'm using OSX we are already wasting few pixels at the top.
    I have lion so usually fullscreen apps are really great but when I'm not using apps that doesn't support this feature and doesn't support windows resize, it's really annoying! (FM2011)
    Anyone know any method so that I can hide this bar the same way as you can hide the dock?
    Cheers!
     
  2. PS65 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #2
    I'm a little confused when you say Windows under the bar? Are we talking about the application title area?
     
  3. hyungsup thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #3

    By windows I mean the place where you get all the work done. (used in plural)
    Not like windows xp (used in singular form)

    And what do you call the bar at the very top?
    It contains the apple button | the name of current program | File | Edit | View|......| Help|
    Well I want to move the window that I'm currently using under that bar.
     
  4. PS65 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #4
    Okay then....:confused:


    Anyway, you're wanted to move your applications 'over' the menu bar?

    It's [myWindow setLevel:NSStatusWindowLevel], after [myWindow makeKeyAndOrderFront:nil].
     
  5. hyungsup thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #5
    I've added a picture just in case we aren't on the same bandwidth :)
    I tried
    [myWindow setLevel:NSStatusWindowLevel], after [myWindow makeKeyAndOrderFront:nil] in terminal and it says there's no such function called myWindow.
    How do you use this?

    Thanks!
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Mal macrumors 603

    Mal

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Orlando
    #6
    You can't move anything over the menubar. If the app supports full-screen mode, then it can fill the screen, but that's up to the developer. Nothing you can do about it, so it's best to simply get used to it.

    jW
     

Share This Page