How to navigate to a mounted image in Terminal

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by MacAodh, Sep 25, 2010.

  1. MacAodh macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Location:
    Dublin, Eire
    #1
    Hi all,
    I'm trying to run Red alert on my mac using wine (just discovered the're giving it away for free :) ).

    Problem is I've managed to install wine, download red alert but need to navigate to the iso to run the install program for red alert. This might be very basic but I don't know what directory to go to in terminal to get to a mounted iso...
     
  2. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #2
    What about Macintosh HD / Volumes, but only if the .iso is mounted first (via double clicking).

    First
    Code:
    cd /
    to go to the Macintosh HD

    then
    Code:
    cd volumes
    to go to the Volumes directory.
     
  3. MacAodh thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Location:
    Dublin, Eire
  4. LPZ macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    #4
    Or from anywhere in the file system, simply

    Code:
    cd /Volumes
    (failing to capitalize the "v" is OK)
     
  5. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #5
    Yep, had a space between the / and volumes, thus my way via cd / and cd volumes.
     
  6. LPZ macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    #6
    Your advice was fine. Just wondering why not do it with just one cd command.
     
  7. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #7
    I had a "space" between / and volumes, thus it looked like this
    Code:
    cd / volumes
    and not like it should be.

     

Share This Page