How to network my MBP w/ a PC

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by iphonesrq, May 21, 2009.

  1. iphonesrq macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Location:
    Tampa
    #1
    I need to know if I can network my MBP w/ a PC. I'm taking a class on XP (required course :confused:) & would like to know if I can do this. It would make things sooooo much easier.

    thank you
     
  2. pnyc macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #3
    Yes you can. Are you looking to access your mac from the pc or your pc from the mac?
     
  3. bigdaddyp macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    #4
    Would you get the same..

    Wouldn't it be easier to just install bonjour on the xp machine or am I missing something? I have found that macs see windows machines fine but that windows machines usually don't see the mac until you add bonjour or go into your windows machines network setting and do some network voodoo.
     
  4. iphonesrq thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Location:
    Tampa
    #5
    probably mac from pc...however I may need both
     
  5. iphonesrq thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Location:
    Tampa
    #6
    Yes of course, however....I have the virtual machine on my mac, I tried to do this first, but can't seem to access everything i need too

    i didnt know bonjour was for the PC machine,...I will have to look into this

    and btw, it's vista so I dont know if the above link from insulin junkie will work
     
  6. Insulin Junkie macrumors 65816

    Insulin Junkie

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Location:
    Mainland Europe
    #7
    Here's one on how to network Vista to Mac.
    http://www.informit.com/articles/article.aspx?p=1150095

    Sorry, you mentioned XP in your first post, so I assumed you had XP.
     
  7. iphonesrq thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Location:
    Tampa
    #8
    Sorry, yah it's an XP class, but the PC i borrowed is Vista the prof. said that vista is ok to use...thanks I'll try it out!
     

Share This Page