Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

srinivas.be88

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 10, 2010
hi folks,
i am new to iPhone programming.i have a one question.that is how to pass the variable defined in one class to another class . these two class didnot use inheritence feature.
for eg:
Code:
 class A
 {
     int go;
    // some methods ..
 }

class B
{
   some method
{ 
 i want to use "go" variable in this method . is it possible to access the variable from the class A.
}

}

please help me to clear the above problem

ranguvar

macrumors 6502
Sep 18, 2009
Yes, it's possible. You'll have to decide whether you want to use an instance or a class variable. In the case of an instance variable, you'd write:

Code:
@interface SomeClass : NSObject {
	int someInt;
}
- (int)someInt;
@end

@implementation SomeClass
- (int)someInt {
	return someInt;
}
@end

and:

Code:
@interface AnotherClass : NSObject  {
}
@end

@implementation AnotherClass
- (void)someMethod {
	SomeClass *instance = [[SomeClass alloc] init];
	NSLog(@"someInt from SomeClass instance: %d", [instance someInt]);
}
@end

If you want a class variable, you'd write something like this:

Code:
@interface SomeClass : NSObject  {
}
+ (int)someInt;
@end

@implementation SomeClass
+ (int)someInt {
	return 4;
}
@end

and:

Code:
@interface AnotherClass : NSObject  {
}
@end

@implementation AnotherClass
- (void)someMethod {
	NSLog(@"someInt from SomeClass: %d", [SomeClass someInt]);
}
@end

In most cases, you'll probably want to use the instance variable. Also, make sure you read this document thoroughly.

srinivas.be88

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 10, 2010

thank you for your reply sir,
sir, already i had created the object for two classes.
so i changed the value of variable where defined in one class. and displays that variable in another class..
for eg:
Code:
 @interface ClassA
 { 
    int a;
  }
 -(void) change : (int) a;
@end