How to Perform Clean Install OS X Leopard

Discussion in 'macOS' started by winty03, Mar 25, 2008.

1. winty03 macrumors regular

Can someone tell me how to perform a clean install of Leopard on my mbp. I am new to Macs and want to reload Leopard. Is there a step by step out there? Also I want it to erase/format/delete all files from current install. I am not in need of anything on there. Also will I loose anything doing this? All I have is the mbp and a leopard disc I got when I bought the system. There shouldn't be anything else I need is there?

2. psychofreak Retired

psychofreak

Just boot from the Leopard disk, holding either option or c during startup. Then choose Options/Customize in one of the first panes (I'm not sure which one) and choose Erase & Install.

3. TEG macrumors 604

TEG

Just insert the DVD, restart the computer, hold down the 'c' key after the startup sound, select your language, click next, select clean install, then OK, wait for Startup Sound again, and "Bob's your Uncle".

TEG

4. winty03 thread starter macrumors regular

Is there anything I am going to loose from my retail bought mbp when I preform the clean install?

5. slcseas macrumors newbie

Thankfully in the world of Mac, you don't get excess trash on OS X from the factory installed version of the OS. Everything will be the same.

6. winty03 thread starter macrumors regular

so just to double check, I am BRAND new to mac. bought it directly form apple, taking out my leopard disc and running a clean install I will have the same programs as I did when I took it out of the box? is there any program that cleans up files when I have trashed an app? thats my concern. I have ran about 15 20 apps I have now trashed and feel there are a ton of files that were left after I trashed the app.

7. webgoat macrumors 6502a

webgoat

8. killmoms macrumors 68040

killmoms