How to pipe video from my Mac Pro to the TV?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by gr8gatzby, Jan 2, 2012.

  1. gr8gatzby macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2001
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #1
    How can I pipe a video stream or downloaded movie from my Mac Pro tower with Optical outputs only to my flatscreen with HDMI?

    Thanks.

    Mac Pro | 2x2.66 Xeon | 3x500gb | 4GB
     
  2. BigJohno macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #2
    Just go DVI to HDMI and run an audio cable along side of it.
     
  3. Bentov macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    #3
    if you have a PS3 you can use that as a go between as well.
     
  4. DigitalVT macrumors member

    DigitalVT

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    Surely you can just go mini-displayport to HDMI, optical back to HDMI.

    But just answering my own question, with a question, I know the mini display ports on the laptops offer digital audio alongside the digital video, but do graphic cards on Mac Pro's offer this?? Hmmm!! Alternatively surely there is a box that combines the DVI signal with either optical or analogue to give you HDMI output!!???
     
  5. flatfoot macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    #5
    mDP/DP/HDMI on desktops usually support audio, too.
     
  6. gr8gatzby thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2001
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #6
    I wasn't 100% clear on what I need.

    I want to be able to use my mac while I pipe out Dora the Explorer to the TV.
     
  7. blueroom macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #7
    Then convert to ATV2 using Handbrake and put an Apple TV2 on the set. Kids happy and all you need is to run iTunes to dish out the Dora marathon.
     
  8. MacBoobsPro macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #8
    Do what BigJohno says. It's simple (could be simpler though - Thanks Apple) and it works. HDMI supports audio but DVI doesnt so thats why you need the audio cable too. Its a standard audio cable with basic headphone jacks on each end.

    So you need DVI to HDMI adapter, HDMI cable and the audio cable.
     
  9. george-brooks macrumors 6502a

    george-brooks

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #9
    Should have no problem running quicktime fullscreen on the TV and continuing to work on your monitor so long as your dont have the displays mirrored. I can't say for sure that the same is true for DVD player but I imagine it is. You could maximize the window without going fullscreen and continue to use the other display for sure though.
     
  10. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #10
    +1. I even have 2 separate audio streams to choose from. Internal and DAC via FW800. Use depending on source quality.
     

Share This Page