how to play dota in window mode?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by dchen720, Jul 23, 2008.

  1. dchen720 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    #1
    i am a new pc-to-mac convert, just have my mbp for 4 days....

    i've dual display, and i want to play dota on the external display and use my other applications on the other display at the same time...

    can someone tell me how to do that???
    thx
     
  2. imassents macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    #2
    Just press Apple(Command)-M while playing to toggle in and out of windowed mode. Please note that the window size is locked at 800x600 and cannot be changed.
     
  3. dchen720 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    #3
    dota on macbook pro

    Command -M


    what's that "-M"???
     
  4. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #4
    lol

    Look at your keyboard. See the key with M engraved on it? This.
     
  5. Sdashiki macrumors 68040

    Sdashiki

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Location:
    Behind the lens
    #5
    I dont want you on my DotA team...

    Playing in windowed mode is not going to do what you want.

    So, Ill save you the headache and simply state, you cant play in windowed mode.

    Now, if you want to window the game to give you access to other apps in the backround, go right ahead.
     
  6. dchen720 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    #6
    dude. I am new to macs... "Apple Command -M"
    this thing is totally different from PC,,, in mac, i actually type out the command,,,
    well, i learnt it last night...

    anyways... i got about 170 fps in the beginning, then 130,,, then about 110 throughout the whole game... not bad eH?

    Another question: in window, i used to do "control 1", then press 1, it'll select the hero,, how do I do that in Mac ?
     
  7. JackAxe macrumors 68000

    JackAxe

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Location:
    In a cup of orange juice.
    #7
    It's exactly the same on the Mac.

    I LOVE DOTA!!! :) This game would suck on a console.

    <]=)
     
  8. FuuFuu macrumors regular

    FuuFuu

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    Roselle
    #8
    quick question, you're using the mbp for dota?
     
  9. dchen720 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    #9
    yes
    it's smoooooooooooth
     
  10. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #10
    1) "command" is the key on the left and right side of your keybaord (they even write Command on it now, instead of :apple: ). Can't be hard to figure out :)

    2) Make sure WC is active, it should operate the same as in full screen mode.

    I guess you aren't a competitive dota player if you have time to switch to other applications...
     
  11. dchen720 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    #11
    before the new hero came out, i would say I am a very very competitive player. 9 out of 10 times, i am the one who gives instructions to teammates.

    but, after the new hero, i lost much of my interest.. but still, since i got my mbp, i wanted to try dota out on it,, to know how good it is compared to my 3 yrd old single-core athlon 2800+ w/ 512 ram
     

Share This Page