How to plug in MBP to ACD? Safely

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by jiE, May 16, 2011.

  1. jiE macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    #1
    Hello. I just bought myself a used 24 inch ACD. I have a MBP 15" i5.

    The question:
    Is it okay to plug in the cables from standby mode or does it have to be shut down?

    Normally I never shut down my mac, always just standby, so it will be a bit of a let down if I have to shut it down every time i want to connect and disconnect the ACD..

    Thanks.
     
  2. rnelan7 macrumors 6502

    rnelan7

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Location:
    Boise
    #2
    You can plug and unplug them while your laptop is on, you will be fine. (I used to have a 24" ACD and mbp).
     
  3. jiE thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    #3
    that sounds a little dangerous.. does other people agree?
     
  4. innominato5090 macrumors 6502

    innominato5090

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    #4
    dangerous? not at all
     
  5. Coolestdude macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    #5
    Displays are no biggie to plug/unplug hot.

    PS/2 is the only standard I can think of that has issues with hot swap.

    Obviously if it bothers you, you can power down first, but there is no technical reason to.
     
  6. dyn macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Location:
    .nl
    #6
    With vga and dvi it was safer to have the display powered off (you could run the risk of sparks). I'm not really sure about (mini)displayport but I think you can hot plug it. Again, having the display powered off is the safest option. The computer doesn't have to be powered off.
     
  7. fehhkk macrumors 6502a

    fehhkk

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #7
  8. fkhan3 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    #8
    I plug/unplug my monitor almost every day. No issues at all.
     
  9. jiE thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007

Share This Page