How to prepare for installation of an SSD?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Stiltzkin, Oct 29, 2012.

1. Stiltzkin macrumors newbie

I've figured out that I am saving hundreds by buying the baseline mid-2012 13" MacBook Pro (non-Retina Display) and doing the internal upgrades myself with my own parts. I've ordered a Samsung 830 128 GB SSD, and 2x4GB sticks of RAM. Now I am just needing to buy the MacBook and do the installation.

Now, I've never done work on a computer before in any capacity. I am scared stiffless that I will mess something up and that my brand new $1200 laptop will be ruined. I am sure the installation of the harddrive itself will be easy, but I'm concerned about the preparations involved before the process begins, and immediately after the drive is installed.

-Will my MacBook Pro come with a Lion install disc? If not, do I need to download a Lion install file and move it to an external before the install?

-I've read a ton about cloning drives, but do I even need to do this considering it is a brand new computer (I'm not even going to use the 500GB mechanical drive it comes with)?

-How do I designate the new SSD as my boot drive once it's installed? Ideally, I want to use the SSD for all of my data-heavy apps and the OS, and my 2 TB external drive will be all of my photos, music, videos, etc. How do I make this work?

I'm sorry if these are questions with very obvious answers. Most of the results on Google use terminology I'm not terribly familiar with. I just want to make sure everything turns out fine. Thanks for your help in advance!

2. dusk007 macrumors 68040

dusk007

1. Yes. Once you have the notebook start it up. Open the AppStore and download OSX. Next you should just find some flash stick that is big enough (I think 4GB is enough) and pull the Install file on. There are other ways but this one is the fastest and easiest.