How to prevent dust?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by drnebulous, Jun 17, 2014.

  1. drnebulous macrumors regular

    drnebulous

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2014
    Location:
    Salford, UK
    #1
    My mac pro (mid-2012) gets a lot of dust within a week or two and I don't know what I should do! I think it's because I'm in a very built up area (only 1 mile away from MCR city centre) and there is also a building site across the road building tower blocks and a full regeneration. Is there anything I can do to stop dust? Either something in the mac or in the room. If I keep the windows closed it will get too hot and if I open them the dust from the building site comes in.

    What should I do:confused::confused::confused::confused:
     
  2. LiamHD macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    #2
    Regular cleaning and cycling the fans at high speed for 30secs or so should help push dust out of the system as I experienced when I ran my new MP fans at Max a couple of minutes ago, after about 30secs the room was dusty as anything.
     
  3. fredr500 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    #3

    How do you run your fans at max?
     
  4. expat42451 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Location:
    where my backpack is
    #4
    One way is to install IStat menus- the program is invaluable in keeping track of the health of the machine plus..... it has a fan control, I leave mine set at default but occasionally run it at fast to run the fans at max
     
  5. thefredelement macrumors 65816

    thefredelement

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Location:
    New York
    #5
    I've had iStat installed for years and had never done this. I regularly clean out my Mac so dust wasn't an issue but that sounded awesome!

    Op, if you get in the habit of popping the side door and removing the processor tray you can blow it out in a few minutes. I also picked up one of those little honeywell air filters and keep it somewhat situated with it's output flowing towards the front of the Mac, I'm not sure if it really helps but I never really have too much build up.

    On a side note, maybe you can get an A/C with an air filter, this way you don't have to worry about being hot or letting in dust.
     
  6. crjackson2134, Jun 17, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 29, 2014

    crjackson2134 macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #6
    Yes, sure there is. I use the iSchmutz Mac Pro Air Filter

    It does a very decent job for me.
     
  7. golf1410 macrumors 6502a

    golf1410

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #7
    Use this Metro Vacuum ED500 DataVac 500-Watt 0.75-HP Electric Duster 120 volt by Metro Vacuum http://www.amazon.com/dp/B001J4ZOAW/ref=cm_sw_r_udp_awd_x0tOtb1KJ5DCR
     
  8. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #8
    Consider a home air filter if you have a lot of dust at home.

    A while ago I bought a 50 cent air filter from Home Depot and cut one to size myself.

    No need to spend that much money.
     
  9. Nightarchaon macrumors 65816

    Nightarchaon

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    #9
    Dude, you must literally live next door to me lol

    Are you getting a build of an orangy "brick dust" on your fans ?

    To keep the dust off all my electrical gear i did a two step process.

    One, get these http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00GB0D8T8/ref=oh_details_o07_s00_i00?ie=UTF8&psc=1
    Stick 1 on your window sill if thats where the dust is coming from.

    two, Vacuum, LOTS, i got a small dust buster just for my office and try and give everything a quick vac at least once a week, that includes shutting down the computers, and vacing around the inlets .

    i still need to strip the casing once every three months and go in with the compressed air and vac, but its a lot better than it was.

    I suspect salford will be like this for a few years, until the new estate(s) is(are) built , worst thing is losing the green space when the build on the old school site on churchill way.
     
  10. nox-uk macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    #10
    Vacuum.

    Don't have your mac on the floor, or atleast not directly. Mine is in an ikea table leg box thing, so it's raised by a couple of inches. My theory was the dust would atleast settle no directly infront of it.

    You can also try putting up signs banning dust from loitering, but this is untested so i'm not sure how effective they will be.

    Nox
     
  11. drnebulous thread starter macrumors regular

    drnebulous

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2014
    Location:
    Salford, UK
    #11

    Nice one! Those things that go in the room look good! Yeah, I do get the orange stuff. I'm near the Peel Park regeneration (no, I'm not a student!).
    Thanks again to everyone else.
     
  12. LiamHD macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    #12
    I use SMC Fan Control personally :)
     
  13. drnebulous thread starter macrumors regular

    drnebulous

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2014
    Location:
    Salford, UK
    #13
    I always set it to 2000rpm+. I'm now at 36º!
     
  14. elvisizer macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 29, 2003
    Location:
    San Jose
    #14
  15. Nightarchaon macrumors 65816

    Nightarchaon

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    #15
    Yeah just down the road from me then (im over near the McDoanalds near the uni, also not a student)

    I suspect the dust will get a LOT worse round about over the next year or so, im even thinking of just getting a cheap (around 150 pounds) air con unit for my office so i don't have to open the windows at all , just to keep the dust out.
     
  16. firedownunder macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 5, 2011
    #16
  17. drnebulous thread starter macrumors regular

    drnebulous

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2014
    Location:
    Salford, UK
    #17

    Nice one!

    I've just got an air con unit so that may help with the dust!
     
  18. Nightarchaon macrumors 65816

    Nightarchaon

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    #18
    Now wait for the heart attack at your next electric bill, those things CHEW electric:eek:
     
  19. drnebulous thread starter macrumors regular

    drnebulous

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2014
    Location:
    Salford, UK
    #19
    I've just realised that it's 3000W......
     
  20. Nightarchaon macrumors 65816

    Nightarchaon

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    #20
    yeah, i am seriously considering seeing if i can get solar + wind power on the house JUST to run the Aircon over summer
     

Share This Page