How to print from other p.c ?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Avzone, Oct 8, 2008.

  1. Avzone macrumors 6502

    Avzone

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Location:
    U.k
    #1
    Can someone please advise how I can use my printer thats connected to my p.c from my mac.
    I have it bluetoothed up, so I can transfer files etc. But I want to use my printer from my mac (say printing i calender) without having to discconnect it from my p.c everytime.
    Many Thanks!
    ;)
     
  2. Avzone thread starter macrumors 6502

    Avzone

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Location:
    U.k
  3. velocityg4 macrumors 68040

    velocityg4

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Location:
    Georgia
    #3
    What is the printer manufacturer and model?
    What version of Windows is running on the PC?
    Do you file and printer sharing turned on in Windows?
    Do you have a third party firewall in Windows?
     
  4. kkat69 macrumors 68020

    kkat69

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, Ga
    #4
     
  5. Avzone thread starter macrumors 6502

    Avzone

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Location:
    U.k
    #5
    >>>

    Ok so appart from the drivers ( I can try that if that dont work)

    I turn print file sharing on in windows
    then just connect to it via prefrences, what in mac ?

    Im quite new to this and have never connected via networks etc

    Please advise again (dummie mode) ha!

    ;)
     
  6. Avzone thread starter macrumors 6502

    Avzone

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Location:
    U.k
    #6
    >>>

    Oh Btw I have a Canon Pixma mp130 printer.
    Will this work through bluetooth ?
    :)
     
  7. Avzone thread starter macrumors 6502

    Avzone

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Location:
    U.k
    #7
    >>>

    Oh and
    Windows Xp Pro

    File and printing sharing on (windows) and Firewall will be turned off.
     
  8. velocityg4 macrumors 68040

    velocityg4

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Location:
    Georgia
    #8
  9. Avzone thread starter macrumors 6502

    Avzone

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Location:
    U.k
    #9
    >>>

    Thanks V, I checked that out, however Im running Osx 10.3.9 and it dont appear to cover that ?
    :(
     
  10. velocityg4 macrumors 68040

    velocityg4

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Location:
    Georgia
    #10
    First off make sure you are using the same Workgroup name in Windows XP as Mac OS X. Change Mac's Workgroup Name though this article is for 10.4 it should be very similar in 10.3. Though Windows often uses WORKGROUP as the default sometimes it is MSHOME. Checking the Windows Workgroup name.

    As for adding a printer it should be fairly similar to the 10.4 guide I linked to previously. It has been a while since I used 10.3 so I could not say for certain.

    Anyways here is a large number of links for Apple Printing
    http://en.allexperts.com/q/Macintosh-OS-1063/Adding-printer-Windows-network.htm

    If need be you may need to set up a static IP address for the Windows XP computer than from the Mac side you will have to manually enter that printers IP address rather than letting OS X find it automatically.
    http://www.macosxhints.com/article.php?story=20021230045509864
     
  11. Avzone thread starter macrumors 6502

    Avzone

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Location:
    U.k
  12. Avzone thread starter macrumors 6502

    Avzone

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Location:
    U.k
    #12
    >>>

    Ok, I think I have got somewhere..
    I am at the point of adding a printer and in printer list where I have selected 'Windows' 'Workgroup' Its asking for a username and password?
    What would this be please?
    I was thinking it may be the username and password that I use for Windows logging?
    Please advise..

    ;)
     
  13. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #13
    Yes, it's the username and password that you use on your Windows machine.
     
  14. Avzone thread starter macrumors 6502

    Avzone

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Location:
    U.k
    #14
    >>>

    As I am the administrator with no other users my log in details only come up with 'Administrator' and I dont know my user name ?
    When I log in I just use my password, so I dont know what to enter?
     
  15. Avzone thread starter macrumors 6502

    Avzone

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Location:
    U.k
    #15
    >>>

    It seems thats ok now, but its saying 'Unable to connect to Samba host'???
    :confused:
     
  16. Avzone thread starter macrumors 6502

    Avzone

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Location:
    U.k
    #16
    >>>

    ... Just goes to print, and then says 'No jobs printing' ???
    :confused:
     
  17. Avzone thread starter macrumors 6502

    Avzone

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Location:
    U.k
    #17
    >>>

    ...Sometimes it is saying 'Unable to connect, NT Status unsuccessful'

    ?

    Please advise ....


    Many Thanks!

    ;)
     
  18. Avzone thread starter macrumors 6502

    Avzone

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Location:
    U.k
  19. velocityg4 macrumors 68040

    velocityg4

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Location:
    Georgia
    #19
    I have done some searching and your printer may not be supported in Mac OS X for network printing. I had this problem with an HP Officejet 6110. For many printers not designed for network printing HP and Canon have a habit of making USB only drivers for Mac OS X. Even though the Windows drivers support both.

    For my HP I used opensource drivers HPIJS with foomatic-RIP and gplgs. The other option was Gutenprint but did not support my printer very well.

    Anyways you can try installing either or both of these and see if you printer can be added with either of them.

    I assume you are able to see the printer when adding from Mac OS X correct?

    Is file sharing also turned on in Windows? So that you can try accessing the shared folder and make sure the Windows username and password work.

    [qoute]...Sometimes it is saying 'Unable to connect, NT Status unsuccessful']Is this the exact phrase of the error message I can not find it with google searches?
     
  20. Avzone thread starter macrumors 6502

    Avzone

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Location:
    U.k
    #20
    >>>

    Thanks V
    I am able to see the printer when adding from Mac OS X correct?

    File sharing is turned on in Windows and the Windows username and password work

    It says 'Unable to connect, NT Status unsuccessful' and 'Host Samba etc and sometimes just does nothing and says 'Printing Stopped'

    I have the install discs, one of which is for Mac, is that any use as it has usb drivers on it?
    I am not that clued up with this all as you probarly can tell, which makes the information and help you and others give even more valuable, so many thanks for your efforts.
    ;)
     
  21. Avzone thread starter macrumors 6502

    Avzone

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Location:
    U.k
    #21
    >>>

    I got a Mac Osx disc with the printer, will this help ?

    :)
     
  22. velocityg4 macrumors 68040

    velocityg4

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Location:
    Georgia
    #22
    Any drivers on the Mac OS X disk are likely useless. I have looked into this a bit more thoroughly and the only way I could see getting this to work is by using the Gutenprint driver from the link I posted above.

    Try the different versions of Gutenprint as the older versions support some printers that have been dropped in the latest version.

    When adding your printer if you do not see an Gutenprint driver for your MP130 try the Canon Pixma iP1500 driver as it is supposed to be compatible with the MP130. If neither of those are available I would try some of the other available Canon drivers as one of them may work. In particular I would try the Pixma iP3000, iP3100, MP140 and MP150 drivers first.

    If it just won't work you could get a printer designed to be networked rather than trying to adapt one to the task.
    -For $120 you could get the Canon MP620 all in one printer (uses one ink tank for color so ink often gets wasted)
    -For $200 you could get an Epson Artisan 700 that should give great photo prints and is also an all in one (uses 5 color ink cartridges)
    -For $180 you could get the Canon MX850 not as high quality printing as the Epson but better than the MP620 and supports duplex printing/scanning (uses separate color ink tanks)
     
  23. Avzone thread starter macrumors 6502

    Avzone

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Location:
    U.k
    #23
    >>>

    Thank you very much for your help.
    I will try what you have suggested!
    :)
     

Share This Page