How to purposely corrupt Mac OS?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by pagetuneup, Jun 25, 2011.

  1. pagetuneup macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    #1
    I want to test my backup system and was wondering what is the best way to
    purposely corrupt the Snow Leopard OS?

    I mean REALLY corrupt it - kernal panic, hosed, no return...

    Any suggestions?
     
  2. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #2
    I couldn't tell you an easy way to do that, but why don't you just try a reformat. Also, if you're just testing your backup system, completely screwing your system would suck if your backup didn't work.
     
  3. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #3
    I’d suggest just using another HD and seeing if you can restore to that.
     
  4. pagetuneup thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    #4
    Any way to do it is what I'm aiming for, all unix systems have a good security system i was wondering if anyone might know a way around it
     
  5. Tower-Union macrumors 6502

    Tower-Union

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    #5
    I'm with Alust, why not format the drive, will have the same effect.

    Unless maybe its not your system your trying to corrupt?
     
  6. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #6
    Exactly, why would anyone who apparently doesn't trust their backup purposefully make their system unusable? So what if the backup isn't working?

    Note also that this is pagetuneup's first post here at MR.

    B
     
  7. pagetuneup thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    #7
    I've accomplished this using a short script on my PC, but I've had no luck on my mac:/
     
  8. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #8
    We're not going to help you hack or corrupt any Mac, whether it be your own or someone else's. If that's your goal, you're asking in the wrong forum.
     
  9. pagetuneup thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    #9
    My intentions are good, I'm trying to develop my own back-up system.

    My system is Windows-ready (sort-of) but I'm hoping i can dev something similar for mac
     
  10. blueroom macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
  11. pagetuneup thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    #11
    Would that produce the same results as kernal panic? That's what I'm aiming for
     
  12. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #12
    If you want a back-up system, you don't have to reinvent the wheel. Just use Carbon Copy Cloner or SuperDuper! or Time Machine and back up your system. Done!
     
  13. pagetuneup, Jun 25, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 25, 2011

    pagetuneup thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    #13
    trying to dev a backup system that will restore any computer on my network. Detect its OS I have several macs and pc'sand automatically restore it without any user help

    have a software in mind for that?
     
  14. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #14
    Just because a kernel panic occurs, it doesn't necessarily indicate that a system restore is called for. This shouldn't be an automatic process. The user should determine if the system needs to be restored from a backup. That decision shouldn't be handled by software or any automated process.

     
  15. pagetuneup thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    #15
    Logic here: Most kernal panics call for a system restore? anyone disagree?

    The software attempts to boot computer in single user mode first and run command fsck first as initial diagnosis. Depending on the results from that then decides how to proceed. Most kernal panics don't even allow the user to key in anything in single user mode anyways
     
  16. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #16
    I disagree. Most kernal panics do not require a system restore. A large % (I suspect over 50%) are caused by bad hardware, mostly RAM and graphics subsystems.
     
  17. pagetuneup thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
  18. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #18
    Yes, Apple disagrees. Read my last post.
     
  19. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #19
    No, it really isn't. fsck is filesystemcheck. It has absolutely nothing to do with the systems memory or graphics subsystem.
     
  20. pagetuneup thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    #20
    I will have to take this into account this is much harder than it was for windows. (I can sense the hair pulling already). Hmm, what do you guys suggest will WITHOUT A DOUBT call for a system restore? I think I'm going to adapt my system to diagnosis first rather then execute system restores off the bat. Its like shoot first ask questions later.
     
  21. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #21
    I disagree completely as you can resolve a kernal panic without restoring the entire os. If you back up, you could very well be backing up the issue that caused the kernal panic on the first place


    I can't think of anything that would call for it to be honest as if the kernal panic is sw related, you can pin point it and resolve it. If it's hw, then a restore won't do anything
     
  22. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #22
    Pretty much nothing. I have never re-installed Mac OSX to resolve issues and I've been using it since the first public beta.
     
  23. pagetuneup thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    #23
    I had to re-install it like last week for this girl running leopard. Apparently she took out the battery while her comp was running a system update
     
  24. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #24
    Whilst I've never tried it I believe Snow Leopard and onwards will survive that.
     
  25. pagetuneup thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    #25
    well apple did take action after those kind of issues occurred. They stopped allowing users the option to take out their comps battery without taking apart the whole thing.
     

Share This Page