How to put a WEP password on AirPort Extreme

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Silver472, Jul 25, 2009.

  1. Silver472 macrumors newbie

    Silver472

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    #1
    Hi everybody. I'd like to know how to put a WEP password on the AirPort Extreme. if it's not possible to put in the main network is there a way I can put in the Guest Network. I've looked for the configuration of the WEP and all I found was WPA. I know that WPA is more secure, but I really need WEP. I think that's all, and thank you everybody.
     
  2. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #2
  3. Silver472 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Silver472

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    #3
    Well, my AirPort is not this model, that's y I asked this here, because I only found for the oldest models. mine is the new one, the dual band, the last release. it doesn't have settings for wep, so maybe it doesn't support but if someone knows please answer me. thank you for the help.
     
  4. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #4
    My bad on the model version.
     
  5. Silver472 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Silver472

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    #5
    oh... ok no problem. but btw, does anyone know how can I put a WEP password on the AirPort Extreme (the newest model, on Windows XP)? thanks for the help btw.
     
  6. Silver472 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Silver472

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    #6
    cmon, nobody knows how to put a WEP password on AirPort Extreme (the latest version)? plz, help me! thank you for the help!
     
  7. IrishSniper87 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    #7
    Why not just setup WPA then?

    (I dont have this router)
     
  8. Silver472 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Silver472

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    #8
    I simply can't put WPA because I really need WEP. I know that WPA is safer and etc but I really need a WEP. btw, somebody knows how to put a wep password on an airport Extreme? thx for the help until now, btw.
     
  9. designgeek macrumors 65816

    designgeek

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Location:
    "Town"
    #9
    I've cracked WEP keys in under 15 minutes but ok. In the AirPort Utility select your device, then select manual setup, go to "Wireless" and in there should be your password options.
     
  10. Silver472 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Silver472

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    #10
    I know there should be the WEP option, but there isn't! that's y I thought that it's strange, because in Apple.com says that u can put WEP, but there isn't this option. is there a way to "enable" or to put a WEP on an AirPort Extreme? I think that's a little bit impossible because I've asked this question in lots of forums and nobody knows. thx by the way and try to help me plz.
     
  11. geoffreak macrumors 68020

    geoffreak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
  12. Silver472 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Silver472

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    #12
    I know that it advertises and I found how to put a WEP key. you have to hold the option on the mac (I think it's the option) or the ctrl in windows and then while holding it, u click on the options to change password type and WEP will appear there. thx for the help and I hope I helped somebody. thx.
     
  13. charlottepacker macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    #13
    re: How to put a WEP password on AirPort Extreme

    Super, thanks for posting this. I needed a temporary solution while I'm upgrading my TiVo wireless adapter. I was stumped until I found this post. The "option click" was the solution to the mystery. Thank you so much!
     
  14. Kevind2 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    #14
    WEP on Guest Network

    I see that this option works for the "Wireless" network but does not seem to work for the Guest Network security settings. I have a G4 with an Airport card that does not support WPA security. Any knowledge here?
     
  15. skorpien macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #15
    As far as I know, there is no way of doing this. I've tried holding down the Option key, but WEP is just not available on the guest nework. I've resorted to leaving it unsecured and turning on MAC address filtering instead. Hopefully this feature will be added in a future firmware revision *crosses fingers*
     
  16. Kevind2 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    #16
    WEP on Guest Network

    Thank you for your reply. I have MAC operating but does it apply to the Guest Network as well?

    Kevin
     
  17. skorpien macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #17
    I would imagine so. The reason I turned mine on was due to some neighbours connecting to my guest network. Since turning MAC address filtering on, I haven't seen either of their computers on my network (or any other unauthorized devices for that matter). You can test it by removing one of your devices from the MAC address list and see if you can get online using your guest network. I'd do it myself, but it's rather late and I've a very important meeting in the morning. Let me know what you find, if you don't mind.
     
  18. Kevind2 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    #18
    Still Surfing away...

    Seems that the MAC access control does not make a difference for the Guest Network. I wonder if it applies to the GB ports on the back of the Airport...Hmmm...
     
  19. Kevind2 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    #19
    No filtering for ethernet connections...

    This is a brand new router for me and unless I am missing something, there does not seem to be any settings to generally control access to my network except for wireless connections on the main network. My old linksys hard wired router has all kinds of control settings. This is troubling...I might resort to calling Apple for an explaination, that's desperate!
     
  20. skorpien macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #20
    I just tried the MAC address filtering on my guest network by attempting to join with my PSP which was not added to the list. I was unable to join the network. But when I added the PSP's MAC address to the list, I was able to join and go online. You have to ensure that the (default) entry for the MAC Address Access Control is set to No Access. If it's set to Everyday, then any device joining your guest network will have full online access.

    And as for your other question, no the AEBS does not allow access control on Ethernet ports.
     
  21. Kevind2 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    #21
    WEP on Airport Estreme

    Thank you so much for your time and your help.
     

Share This Page