How to put DVD's onto my MAC

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Sir Peter, Dec 23, 2007.

1. Sir Peter macrumors newbie

I am new to the MAC world, in fact I have not picked up my G4 yet it is in the store and will get it tomorrow. I have a couple of questions that I need to answer.

My wife has a collection of exercise DVD’s from around the world, all DVD regions that she would like to watch on the computer. What is the best way to have these DVD on the computer as I have been told that you can not turn the built in DVD player on the G4 in to a multi regional player.

Can I put the 18 DVD’s on to an external hard drive? If so exactly how would I do that, I am not that computer wise so would appreciate any set by set process.

Thanks

Pete

2. desenso macrumors 6502a

desenso

You seem like a nice enough person who has taken the time to write out a coherent request for information. However, you should have searched first. There are literally dozens of threads on this.

Mac The Ripper for ripping the DVDs as raw VOBs.

Handbrake if you want to encode them into smaller files.

3. Eraserhead macrumors G4

Eraserhead

4. HLdan macrumors 603

HLdan

If Apple's DVD Player won't play all regions you can download and install the free "VLC Media Player". VLC plays nearly everything.
    http://www.videolan.org/vlc/

5. Eraserhead macrumors G4

Eraserhead

You might also prefer MPlayer instead of VLC, options are good after all.

6. ryanmcd02 macrumors member

Get the 3 programs that have already been suggested.

When you use MactheRipper to rip the dvd, you can save it to your desktop, and then manually drag and drop the files onto a folder on your external drive. BUT, DVDs (especially with all of their menus) will start to eat up space quickly. Each DVD is about 6.5 GB, so for 18 DVDs you will need lots of room. With MactheRipper, you can select to only extract the title track, but this can sometimes make mistakes if you are extracting TV shows.