How to put multiple Keynote presentations on a loop?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by reubs, Apr 23, 2010.

  1. reubs macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    #1
    I've had some students put together multiple Powerpoint presentations for a class, and now I need to find a way to stack them on top of each other and on a loop.

    I'm not too keen on PPT or Keynote, but I do know the PPTs will play on my latest copy of Keynote. Now, is there any way to stack them on top of each other and run them on a loop for the parents to see during the luncheon tomorrow?

    FWIW, each PPT is a collection of things they've learned and experienced through this class, so it's not really something they need to present to the parents themselves.

    Thanks for any info folks can offer.
     
  2. steveoc macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Adirondacks NY
    #2
    Drag all the slides into one presentation. Select File-->Export. Export as QuickTime and choose Playback Uses: Fixed Timing. Set the time interval to an appropriate length. Set Repeat: Loop. You'd probably want to export as Full Quality.

    Although if the kids are going to present, it might be best just drag all the slides to one deck and let the students advance the slides.
     
  3. reubs thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    #3
    Thanks; that's a great solution. No, they won't be presenting them today. That part has already happened; this is just for parents.

    Thanks again; hopefully I can get this to work right.
     
  4. Dave Braine macrumors 68040

    Dave Braine

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Location:
    Warrington, UK
    #4
    Keynote will play presentations automatically as a loop, without the need to export first.
     
  5. steveoc macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Adirondacks NY
    #5
    You are right! I thought it might, but couldn't find it. Go to Inspector Palette and select the Document Inspector and check "Loop slideshow."
     
  6. Elena Williams macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    #6
    I would definitely build segments into each slide so the Presenter or operator has clean, foolproof control over each segment's playback. You don't want to be fiddling with pause controls on the day.
    I'd create the movie in one AE comp, with 1 second static points at the pause locations (with absolutely nothing animated at those points) so that the pauses are seamless.
    From there, it's up to you.
    You can render multiple Quicktime segments as a Quicktime-per-slide for the Keynote presentation.
    You can render one long Quicktime, then use Quicktime Pro (or any non-linear editor) to export each segment as a Quicktime-per-slide for the Keynote presentation.
     
  7. reubs thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    #7
    Thanks for the replies, folks. Things went off well. I just needed to set something on a loop to play in the background during the reception for the conclusion of their class. It was my first go at something using Keynote, and it seems like I've got a ton to learn with it. Can't wait to give it a whirl with some of my own stuff later on.
     

Share This Page