How To Quit Carbon Copy Cloner User Agent?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by PicnicTutorials, Mar 15, 2015.

  1. PicnicTutorials macrumors 6502a

    PicnicTutorials

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    #1
    Normally menu items in the top bar have an option in the menu to quit. Even if CCC is not open and running this user agent is. I will only use CCC every couple months so I don't want it running. It's not in my login items but is running - I can see it in activity monitor. I can hide the menu icon via the CCC preferences but the process still runs. I can quit the process via activity monitor but it starts up again after computer reboot. What the heck? Nothing on google either.

    Here https://bombich.com/kb/ccc4/uninstalling-ccc CCC FAQs say... "If you have a specific reason to disable one or both of these applications, for example, if you use CCC infrequently, you can hold down Command+Option, then choose Disable Helper Tool & Agent, then quit from the Carbon Copy Cloner menu when you are done using CCC (the keyboard shortcut is Command+Option+Q)."

    Thats exactly what I need but I don't seem to have that option in version 4. The documentation apparently needs to be updated. You guys all rave about CCC so surely someone has disabled this already? How to?
     
  2. jack1011 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2014
  3. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #3
    You can check the following locations for apps that automatically launch on startup and delete any you don't need/want:
    • System Preferences > Users & Groups > yourusername > Login Items (SL and older: System Preferences > Accounts > yourusername > Login Items)
    • In Finder, click Go > Go to Folder > /Library/LaunchAgents
    • In Finder, click Go > Go to Folder > ~/Library/LaunchAgents
    • In Finder, click Go > Go to Folder > /Library/StartupItems
    After you delete items from the list, restart your Mac and those processes should not be running.
     
  4. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #4
    I'm running the same version, and it looks like if you delete this plist from the users library folder here it will stop it from launching.


    Code:
    ~/Library/LaunchAgents/com.bombich.ccc-user-agent.plist
     
  5. PicnicTutorials thread starter macrumors 6502a

    PicnicTutorials

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    #5
    awesome thanks so much weaselboy! and all that read. I'm at hotel curently. When I get home I will testthat out...
     
  6. PicnicTutorials thread starter macrumors 6502a

    PicnicTutorials

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    #6
    Thats weird. I don't have that .plist in that folder. There is only one other thing there and its not that. I checked the other locations start up items are as posted above and it is not there either.
     
  7. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #7
    Are you sure you looked in the users library folder and not the main library folder? (Don't mean to insult you if you already know the difference)
     
  8. PicnicTutorials thread starter macrumors 6502a

    PicnicTutorials

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    #8
    No worries. :) Ya I looked in both. Using CleanMyMac and looking in login items I disabled CCC login. It seems if I open CCC then that user agent opens and runs. But as long as I don't open CCC then it does not auto run. So it seems to of fixed it. The maker of the software emailed me back and said this was a moot issue because 4.1 will be released soon and the user agent will turn itself off if to tasks are needed to be run.
     

Share This Page