How to re-link the music file to the iTune Library

Discussion in 'iPod' started by YS2003, Aug 17, 2007.

  1. YS2003 macrumors 68020

    YS2003

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2004
    Location:
    Finally I have arrived.....
    #1
    I used to set up the iTune's music files (actual MP3 files) in the external HD. iTune library (the list of music you see on the iTune main window) is linked to those source files in the external.
    I moved those music files back to the MBP. But, the list of music listed on the iTune library shows the "!" mark indicating there is no link to the source music file.
    Can someone suggest the way to re-link the music file to the iTune library without resorting to re-linking each music file painstakingly.

    PS. When I "consolidated" the library after moving the music source files to the MBP from the external HD, I ended up with the duplicate music file (doubling the music file because of this duplication) with an extention " 1" (that is, space 1) and it was a pain in the neck to get rid of those duplicate files. I want to prevent the same fate when I doing this linking job.
     
  2. iBookG4user macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #2
    iTunes menu>advanced then change the iTunes music folder location to where you have it currently.
     
  3. YS2003 thread starter macrumors 68020

    YS2003

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2004
    Location:
    Finally I have arrived.....
    #3
    That I have already done bofore. When I moved the files from the external HD to interal MBP HD, I changed that the iTune music holder locatioin from the external to the internal MBP. Still I see "!" mark on the iTune library list.
     
  4. iBookG4user macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #4
    Try deleting all of the sons in iTunes and reimporting them, then. That should fix it, if that didn't work.
     
  5. YS2003 thread starter macrumors 68020

    YS2003

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2004
    Location:
    Finally I have arrived.....
    #5
    How to re-create the iTune database file to update the playlist on iTune

    Is there a better way than that? Importing each music file from the iTune's manu bar will take ages for over 1000 songs.
    The songs are already in iTune Libaray folder in iTune folder on my MBP. So, it is a matter of making iTune see those files and list them in the iTune play list.
     
  6. iBookG4user macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #6
    It actually shouldn't take too long if you uncheck the box in the below screen capture. (make sure to check the box again afterwards)
     

    Attached Files:

  7. YS2003 thread starter macrumors 68020

    YS2003

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2004
    Location:
    Finally I have arrived.....
    #7
    That check box was already unchecked. In the previous setting in which the external HD was holding the music folder, I unchecked that box so that I don't duplicate the music files to the internal MBP HD.
    I just don't understand why Apple makes this simple process so complicated. All I want to do is make the iTune see the music files in iTune folder so that those music is listed on the iTune's main play list window.
     
  8. YS2003 thread starter macrumors 68020

    YS2003

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2004
    Location:
    Finally I have arrived.....
    #8
    I found out the solution on my own. All I had to do was go to File>New Playlist and choose the iTunes folder my music files are stored.
     

Share This Page