How to reconnect iWeb site

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by Mr.Gadget, Jan 10, 2008.

  1. Mr.Gadget macrumors 6502

    Mr.Gadget

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Location:
    Post Falls, ID
    #1
    Before going to OS X 10.5, I backed up my system, including my iWeb. I also have a sync'd copy on my .Mac account.
    I installed Leopard and reinstalled apps.
    I cannot get iWeb to pick up where I left off... I have the entire contents of my web page but apparently the index page or something else is corrupted or wrong.
    The web page is still accessible on the web.
    Any advice?
     
  2. MrSmith macrumors 68040

    MrSmith

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2003
    #2
    You need the Domain package. Did you back that up? If you have it, I think you can just double-click it to open iWeb and connect the two. If you don't have it, you cannot reconstruct it, I'm afraid.
     
  3. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #3
    The Domain file that MrSmith is talking about is here /Users/username/Library/Application Support/iWeb/Domain.sites2

    Might have a different extension on yours.
     
  4. etoiles macrumors 6502a

    etoiles

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2002
    Location:
    Where the air is crisp
    #4
    ...and make sure to make iterative backups of your Domain package. I had it corrupt on me twice in just a few months.
     
  5. MrSmith macrumors 68040

    MrSmith

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2003
    #5
    How do you mean 'corrupt'? Wouldn't that be like a .html page corrupting?
     
  6. Mr.Gadget thread starter macrumors 6502

    Mr.Gadget

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Location:
    Post Falls, ID
    #6
    MrSmith, you were right. I luckily had a backup of my iLife and iWork and Home folders. I found the correct file here:
    /Users/username/Library/Application Support/iWeb/

    Even though I had backed up the entire iWeb folder, I was being prompted to find my index and domain file(s) or something of that nature. (Sorry, I failed the first test of asking for help & that is to write down the error message).
    Anyway, after restoring the domain file, it opened right up!
    So, the iWeb contents were fine, but the needed file in my Users directory mentioned above was the key...
     
  7. MrSmith macrumors 68040

    MrSmith

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2003
  8. Nivola macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    #8
    I've had similar issues with my iWeb / iDisk and haven't been able to publish for the last 3 weeks.

    I've tried the domain replacement file (2 month old version) via Time Machine, and a number of other solutions, but nothing seems to work.

    I believe it is a corrupt file/folder on the iDisk, but .Mac support has been slow/non-existent.

    Suggestions?
     
  9. MrSmith macrumors 68040

    MrSmith

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2003
    #9
    If you double-click the Domain file does iWeb open? If not, then I 'm not sure what you could do.
     
  10. Nivola macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    #10
    Yes, clicking on the Domain file does open iWeb.

    Sorry about the late response.

    I've created a new thread on this topic to see if more light can be shed on the issue.

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=420428
     

Share This Page